

PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No.21

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TUESDAY, APRIL 14, 1953

The Department of External Affairs announced today that the United Kingdom - Canada Continuing Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs will open one of its periodic meetings in Ottawa on April 15th.

The United Kingdom - Canada Continuing Committee was established in 1948, and meets from time to time to review the general economic situation and consider matters of common concern to the United Kingdom and Canada in the economic, trade and financial fields. The members of the Committee report the results of their conversations to their respective governments for consideration. The Committee meets alternately in Ottawa and London. In London the meetings are under the chairmanship of the Canadian High Commissioner and in Ottawa the Committee meets under the chairmanship of the United Kingdom High Commissioner. The current meeting of the Committee, which is the first since January 1952, will be presided over by Lieutenant-General Sir Archibald Nye. In addition to the High Commissioner, the United Kingdom Delegation will consist of:

Sir Frank Lee, Permanent Secretary of the Board of Trade,

Sir Leslie Rowan and Mr. Martin Flett, H.M. Treasury, Sir Henry Hancock, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Food.

Sir Eric Bowyer, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Materials.

The Canadian members of the Committee are:

Mr. L.D. Wilgress, Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs,

Mr. J.G. Taggart, Deputy Minister, Department of Agriculture,

Mr. W.F. Bull, Deputy Minister, Department of Trade & Commerce,

Mr. J.J. Deutsch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Department of Finance.