Institutions

of membership in a referendum. Further summit meetings took place in Paris in 1972 and in Copenhagen in 1973. The last summit meeting to be called as such took place in Paris from December 1 to 10, 1974. Less formal meetings of Community heads of government, known as "European Councils", now take place three times a year to review the Community's progress and give it guidelines for further advances.

The Community's institutions and decision-making process distinguish it from traditional international organizations. The institutions have legal status and extensive powers in fields covered by common policies. They are the motive power of the integration process.

The Community has a dual executive: The Commission proposes and supervises the execution of laws and policies. The Council of Ministers enacts laws and programs, based on Commission proposals.

The other main Community institutions are the European Parliament, the Court of Justice and the Economic and Social Committee. Many specialized committees assist the Commission and the Council.

Before July 1, 1967, each Community had its own executive institutions. The ECSC's Commission was called the "High Authority". Since that date, a single Commission and a single Council have administered Community policy. The merger permitted policy co-ordination in sectors, such as energy, covered by all three treaties.

COMMISSION

The Commission is a collegiate body of 13 members (two each from France, Italy, Germany and Britain and one each from Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark and Ireland). The national governments appoint members for renewable four-year terms, with the President and five Vice-Presidents appointed from among the members for two-year renewable terms. Although appointed by member states, the

Commission must act independently of them, considering the interests of the Community as a whole rather than of any of its individual members.

The Commission's duties are to:

— present the Council of Ministers with

policy proposals, based on provisions in the treaties or on decisions by heads of governments;

- supervise the execution of the treaties and call member countries and companies to account if they fail to observe them;
- administer the operation of the Community;
- act as conciliator of national viewpoints at Council meetings to secure acceptance of measures in the Community's interest.

Each member of the Commission is responsible for one or more of the Community's activities. The Commission's administrative organization consists of departments called "directorates general". The directorates general prepare proposals for the Commission and consult experts from national governments or trade, management, agricultural and labour groups.

A collegiate body, the Commission is responsible as a group for its acts. It makes decisions by a simple majority vote of its members.

COUNCIL OF MINISTERS

The Council of Ministers is the Community's main decision-making body. It consists of one minister from each member country and represents the national viewpoint in the legislative process. Ministers with various