Dr. Rowland B. Orr, Director of the Provincial Museum, Toronto, and Dr. A. Gagnon, Department of Public Works, Quebec, were the Canadian representatives at the nineteenth international Congress of Americanists, which took place at Washington, December 27-31, in affiliation with the section of anthropology of the second Pan-American Scientific Congress, and with the American Anthropological Association, the American Folklore Society, the American Historical Association, and the Archæological Institute of America.

Two Toronto men have received promotions at the front. Dr. J. T. Clarke, who practised on Bloor street before enlisting, has been promoted to a lieutenant-coloneley and is now in charge of No. 2 Candian Stationary Hospital at Boulogne, France. He was formerly in command of No. 1 Canadian Stationary Hospital at Le Treport, France. Lieut. Arthur W. Ellis of 15 Spencer Avenue has received a commission. He is twenty years of age, and previous to enlisting was employed in the customs office. For some time he was connected with the Q. O. R.

The German Government has refused to liberate Hon. Dr. Beland, former Postmaster-General of Canada, who was captured at the fall of Antwerp. The German authorities are willing, however, to exchange the doctor for Lieut. Rintelen, now held under sentence of death in the London Tower for espionage. These advices were received in Montreal by Arthur Ecrement, former member of Parliament, from Premier Borden, who announced that Mr. A. Bonar Law, British Colonial Sceretary, had requested the Vatican authorities to petition for Dr. Beland's release.

An all-specialist staff is being chosen by Lieut.-Col. Bruce and Lieut.-Col. H. B. Anderson for the returned soldiers' Convalescent Home, Toronto. The following doctors have agreed to give their services gratuitously: Col. H. J. Hamilton, Dr. A. E. Webster, Dr. Goldwin Howland, Dr. J. H. Elliott, Dr. Brefney O'Reilly, Dr. R. W. Mann, Dr. Harold Tovell, Dr. W. J. McCollum, Dr. D. J. Gibb Wishart, Dr. Colin Campbell, Dr. G. H. Burnham, Dr. Newbold Jones, Dr. J. A. Oille, Dr. Arthur Wright, Dr. Charles B. Shuttleworth, Dr. A. Moorehead and Dr. Charles Temple. Captain Rogers has been appointed house officer. The staff will be added to from time to time.