CHAPTER XII

1867-1903

MODERN QUEBEC

CONFEDERATION — THE LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS —
SPENCER WOOD — PRIME MINISTERS OF QUEBEC —
FELIX GABRIEI, MARCHAND — ADMINISTRATION
OF THE HON. S. N. PARENT — LORD DUFFERIN —
FIRES IN QUEBEC — EPIDEMICS — FESTIVITIES —
ROYAL VISITORS

THE year 1867 marks an epoch in our history. On the 22nd of May, a Royal Proclamation was issued, setting forth that "on and after the first day of July, "1867, the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and "New Brunswick shall form, and be one Dominion, "under the name of Canada."

In the draft of the Act of Confederation, it was proposed to give the name of the ''Kingdom of Canada'' to the four great Provinces, which together comprise an area greater than the whole of Europe.

Under this act each Province was granted a form of local government. Quebec was chosen as the capital of the French Canadian Province.