AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER COUNTRIES OF THE ASSOCIATION OF SOUTHEAST ASIAN NATIONS AND THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA ON ECONOMIC COOPERATION

The Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Republic of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore and the Kingdom of Thailand, member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (hereinafter referred to as "the member countries of ASEAN") of the one part and the Government of Canada (hereinafter referred to as "Canada") of the other part;

INSPIRED by the traditional links of friendship between the member countries of ASEAN and Canada as well as their own desire to develop and broaden their economic cooperation generally and contribute to the growth and prosperity of their respective economies;

NOTING the desire of the member countries of ASEAN to strengthen the process of their economic cooperation;

RECOGNIZING that the consolidation, deepening and diversifying of economic relations, namely, industrial, technical, financial, commercial and development cooperation generally on the basis of mutual benefit will be an important element of such cooperation;

RECOGNIZING also that closer, broader and diversified economic links between their respective private sectors, are of mutual benefit to both the member countries of ASEAN and Canada; and

DESIRING to supplement their bilateral relations;

2

HAVING agreed as follows: