NAYS:

Mr Macgill, Mr Mooney, Mr Mooney, Mr Davis, Hon. Col. Secretary, Hon. Mr. Lord Hon. Mr Whelan,

So it was carried in the affirmative.

Mr. Macneill and Mr. Cooper then took the usual Oaths and their seats.

RESOLVED, That Mr. Henry W. Lobban, be Sergeant at Arms.

The Hon. Mr. Whelan moved that Mr. Richard Walsh, be Messenger to the House, and the motion being seconded and the question put thereon,

The House divided.

YEAS:

Hon. Mr Whelan, Hon. Mr Lord, Hon. Col. Secretary, Mr Mooney, Mr Macgill, Mr Davies, Mr Clark,

NAYS:

Hon. Mr Palmer,	Mr Macaulay,
Mr Goff,	Mr Douse,
Mr Yeo,	Mr Macleod,
Mr Maceachen,	Mr Macgowan,
Mr Beer,	Mr Wightman,
Mr Conroy,	Mr Fraser,
Mr Haviland,	Mr Longworth,
Mr Montgomery,	0 ,

So it passed in the negative.

Mr. Haviland then moved that Mr. Thomas Pleadwell, be Messenger.

The Hon. Mr Whelan moved in amendment to the motion, that Mr. William B. Davison, be Messenger.

The House divided on the motion of amendment.

YEAS:

Hon. Mr Whelan,	Hon. Mr. Lord,
Hon. Col. Secretary,	Mr Mooney,
Mr Macgill,	Mr Davies,
Mr Clark,	Mr Douse.
Mr Wightman,	

NAYS:

Hon. Mr Palmer, Mr Goff, Mr Maceachen, Mr Beer, Mr Fraser, Mr Longworth, Mr Montgomery, Mr Macleod, Mr Macleod, Mr Macgowan, Mr Conroy, Mr Haviland.

So it passed in the negative.

The question being then put on the main motion, it was agreed to by the House.

RESOLVED, That a Committee of three Members be appointed to receive Tenders for the printing of the Journals of this Hous, and to report thereon to the House.

Ordered, That Mr. Haviland, Mr. Montgomery and Mr. Clark do compose the said Committee.

RESOLVED, That a Committee of Five Members be appointed to provide Stationary for the use of the House.

Ordered, That Mr. Macgowan, Mr. Montgomery, Mr. Macaulay, Mr. Maceachen and Mr. Goff do compose the said Committee.

RESOLVED, That a Committee of seven Members be appointed to prepare and report with all convenient speed, the draft of an Address in answer to the Speech of His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor delivered this day to both Houses of the Legislature.

Ordered, That the Hon. Mr. Whelan Mr. Wightman, Mr Davies Mr. Clark, Mr. Macgill, Mr. Mooney and Mr. Fraser do compose the said Committee.

RESOLVED, That a Committee be appointed on the part of this House, to join a Committee of the Legislative Council, to take charge of the Legislative Library.

Ordered, That Mr. Conroy, Mr. Haviland, Mr. Macgowan, Mr. Wightman, Mr. Macaulay and the Hon. Mr. Palmer do compose the said Committee.