And two honourable senators having risen. Motion in amendment negatived on the following division:

YEAS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Bosa Graham Haidasz Lefebvre Macdonald (*Cape Breton*) Molgat Perreault—7

NAYS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Adams Atkins Austin Balfour Barootes Beaudoin Beaulieu Berntson Bolduc Buchanan Buckwold Carney Castonguay Chaput-Rolland Cochrane Cogger Comeau Cools Davey David DeWare Doody Dovle Everett Fairbairn Forrestall Frith Gigantès Grafstein Grimard Hastings Hays Hébert Johnson Kelleher Kenny Keon

Kinsella Kirby Lavoie-Roux LeBlanc (Beauséjour) Lucier Lvnch-Staunton MacDonald (Halifax) Marchand Marsden Meighen Murray Neiman Nurgitz Oliver Olson Ottenheimer Phillips Poitras Riel Robertson Roblin Ross Rossiter Simard Spivak Stanbury Stollery Sylvain Teed Tremblay Turner Twinn van Roggen

Waters-71

ABSTENTIONS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Corbin	Petten
Di Nino	Stewart
Kelly	Thériault—7
Lewis	

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: I declare the motion in amendment negatived.

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: Honourable senators, it is moved by the Honourable Senator Haidasz, P.C., seconded by the Honourable Senator Corbin:

That Clause 1 of Bill C-43 at page 2 thereof be amended by striking lines 4 through 8 thereof, where is set out section 287, subsection (3).

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: Will those honourable senators in favour of the motion in amendment please say "yea"?

Senator Haidasz: Yea.

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: Will those honourable senators who are against the motion in amendment please say "nay"?

Some Hon. Senators: Nay.

Haidasz

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: In my opinion, the "nays" have it.

And two honourable senators having risen.

Motion in amendment negatived on the following division:

YEAS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS Graham Macdonald

> (*Cape Breton* Molgat—4

NAYS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Davey Adams David Atkins DeWare Austin Di Nino Balfour Doody Barootes Beaudoin Doyle Beaulieu Everett Fairbairn Berntson Bolduc Forrestall Buchanan Frith Gigantès Buckwold Grafstein Carney Grimard Castonguay Hastings Chaput-Rolland Cochrane Hays Hébert Cogger Johnson Comeau Kelleher Cools

[The Hon. the Speaker.]