Figure 4 Bilateral Nuclear Co-operation Agreements

Canada has concluded bilateral agreements meeting the requirements of the December 1976 policy statement on the peaceful uses of nuclear energy with the following countries and organizations:

- Australia
- Colombia
- Egypt
- EURATOM (Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom)
- Finland
- Hungary
- Indonesia
- Japan
- Korea
- Philippines
- Romania
- Sweden
- Switzerland
- Turkey
- Union of Soviet Socialists Republics
- United States
- Uruguay

Except for nuclear weapons states, these agreements require that IAEA safeguards will apply to the whole nuclear program in each country (including Canada) thus eliminating the need for Canada to conduct inspections.

Also, limited bilateral agreements have been signed with a number of countries on certain specialized exports.