- (c) The Commission of Government would be composed of six members, exclusive of the Governor, three of whom would be drawn from Kewfoundland and three from the United Lingdom.
- (a) The Government Departments in the Island would be divided into six groups. Each group would be placed in the charge of a Member of the Commission of Government who would be responsible for the efficient working of the Departments in the group, and the Commission would be collectively responsible for the several Departments.
- (e) The proceedings of the Commission of Government would be subject to supervisory control by Your Majesty's Government in the United Hingdon, and the Governor-in-Commission would be responsible to the Secretary of State for Dominion Affairs in the United Kingdom for the good government of the Island.
- (f) -Your Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom would, for their part, assume general responsibility for the finances of the Island until such time as it may become self-supporting again, and would, in particular, make such arrangements as may be deemed just and practicable with a view to securing to Newfoundland a reduction in the present burden of the public debt.
- (g) It would be understood that, as soon as the Island's difficulties are overcome and the country is again self-supporting, responsible government, on request from the people of Newfoundland, would be restored.

- 15 -