International Court of Justice

The Court consists of fifteen judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, proceeding independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for re-election. To provide for rotation, however, the Statute of the Court states that of the members elected at the first election, the terms of office of five judges should expire at the end of three years, and the terms of five more at the end of six years. The judges who were to serve the initial three and six-year periods were chosen by lot. The terms of office began on the date of the first election, February 6, 1946. The present judges of the Court, with the year their term of office ends, are as follows:

	End of
Judge	term
Green H. Hackworth, President,	
of the United States	1961
Abdel Hamid Badawi,	1,01
Vice-President, of Egypt	1967
Helge Klaestad, of Norway	1961
Muhammad Zafrulla Khan,	1701
of Pakistan	1961
Feodor Ivanovich Kozhevnikov,	1701
of the U.S.S.R.	1961
E. C. Armand-Ugon, of Uruguay	1961
	1901
L. M. Moreno Quintana,	1964
of Argentina	1904
José Gustavo Guerrero,	1064
of El Salvador	1964
Jules Basdevant, of France	1964
Roberto Cordova, of Mexico	1964
Hersch Lauterpacht,	
of the United Kingdom	1964
Sir Percy C. Spender,	
of Australia	1967
Wellington Koo, of China	1967
Bohdan Winiarski, of Poland	
Jean Spiropoulos, of Greece	1967

Disarmament Commission¹

Permanent	Non-Permanent
Members ²	Members for the
Canada	year under revie
China	Australia
France	Colombia
Union of Soviet	Cuba
Socialist	Iraq
Republics	Philippines
United Kingdom	Sweden
United States	

Appendix II

Principal Meetings of the United Nations and Specialized Agencies, March 9, 1957 to December 14, 1957 and Canadian representation at the resumed eleventh session and twelfth regular session of the General Assembly

Resumed eleventh session, New York.

General Assembly

September 10-14, 1957. Representative: Dr. R. A. MacKay, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations.

Twelfth regular session, New York. September 17-December 14, 1957. Representatives: Chairman of the Delegation: Hon. S. E. Smith, 3,4 Secretary of State for External Affairs; Vice-Chairman Mr. W. B. Nesbitt, M.P., Parliamentary Assistant to the Prime Minister; Dr. R. A. MacKay, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations; Mrs. H. S. Quart; Mr. F. E. Lennard, M.P.; Alternate Representatives: Mr. H. O. White, M.P.; Mr. T. Ricard, M.P.4; Mr. E. M. Reid; Mr. W. D. Matthews, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs; Mr. E. Benjamin Rogers, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Peru; Mr. D. Jung, M.P.

Economic and Social Council

Twenty-third session, New York, April 16-May 2, 1957.
Twenty-fourth session, Geneva, July 2-August 2, 1957.
Resumed twenty-fourth session, New York, December 10 and 13, 1957.

Trusteeship Council

Nineteenth session, New York, March 14-May 15, 1957.

Twentieth session, New York, May 20-July 12, 1957.

Seventh special session, New York, September 12-20, 1957.

Food and Agriculture Organization

Ninth session of the Conference, Rome, November 2-22, 1957. Twenty-sixth session of the Council, Madrid, June 2-16, 1957.

International Atomic Energy Agency

First General Conference, Vienna, October 1-23, 1957.

²The Sub-Committee of the Disarmament Commission is composed of Representatives of five countries: Canada, France, U.S.S.R., U.K. and U.S.A.

³The Rt. Hon. John G. Diefenbaker, Prime Minister, served as Chairman of the Delegation ex officio during his presence at the session.

In the absence of the Secretary of State for External Affairs, Mr. Ricard served as Representative.

¹This Commission was established on January 11, 1952 by the General Assembly to function under and report to the Security Council. See *Canada and the United Nations 1951-52*, Appendix 5, pp. 157-158. A change in the composition of the Commission, to take effect January 1, 1958, was recommended at the twelfth session of the General Assembly and a resolution to this effect was adopted which called for the expansion of the Commission by fourteen members. For details see article on disarmament pp. 5-8