Appendix I

Membership of the United Nations and Important United Nations Bodies at June 30, 1954.

United Nations

Iran Afghanistan Iraq Argentina Australia Israel Lebanon Belgium Bolivia Liberia Luxembourg Brazil Mexico Burma Netherlands Byelorussian New Zealand S.S.R. Nicaragua Canada Norway Chile China Pakistan Colombia Panama Costa Rica Paraguay Peru Cuba Philippines Czechoslovakia Poland Denmark Saudi Arabia Dominican Sweden Republic Syria Thailand Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Turkey Ukrainian S.S.R. Ethiopia Union of South France Africa Greece U.S.S.R. Guatemala United Kingdom United States Haiti Honduras Uruguay Iceland Venezuela India Yemen Indonesia Yugoslavia

Security Council

Non-Permanent Permanent Members Members To serve until China December 31, 1954: France Colombia U.S.S.R. United Kingdom United States Denmark Lebanon To serve until December 31, 1955: Brazil New Zealand Turkey

Economic and Social Council

To serve until December 31, 1954: Argentina Cuba

Argentina Cuba Belgium Egypt China France To serve until December 31, 1955:

Australia United States India Venezuela Turkey Yugoslavia

To serve until December 31, 1956:

Czechoslovakia Pakistan Ecuador U.S.S.R. Norway United Kingdom

Trusteeship Council

Administering Trust Territories:

Australia New Zealand
Belgium United Kingdom
France United States

Permanent Members of the Security Council Not Administering Trust Territories:

China U.S.S.R.

Elective Members:

To serve until December 31, 1955: El Salvador Syria

To serve until December 31, 1956: Haiti India

Italy, as an administering authority which is not a member of the United Nations, takes part without vote in the Council's deliberations concerning the trust territory of Somaliland and concerning general questions affecting the operation of the international trusteeship section.

International Court of Justice

The Court consists of fifteen judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, proceeding independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for re-election. To provide for rotation, however, the Statute of the Court states that of the members elected at the first election, the terms of office of five judges should expire at the end of three years, and the terms of five more at the end of six years. The judges who were to serve the initial three and six-year periods were chosen by lot. The terms of office began on the date of election, February 6, 1946.

The present judges of the Court, in order of precedence, with the year their term of office ends, are as follows:

Judge End of Term
Sir Arnold D. McNair, President, of the United Kingdom. 1955