Additional information :

The two large islands are called North Island and South Island. These are separated by Cook's Strait, 13 miles wide. The small island at the south is Stewart Island. The three islands are about 1,100 miles long and about 100 miles in average hreadth. No place is more than 75 miles from the sea. There are a number of outlying islands collectively known as the Off Islands.

Coast-There are many islands and some excellent harbors.

- Climate-The elimate is mild, warmer and more equable than that of The west side of the islands has the heavier rainfall. England. Why?
- Soil-The soil is remarkable for its richness; some is alluvial and others of voleanie debris. Forests cover about one-third of the country, and are a characteristic feature of New Zealand.
- Industries-The three chief occupations are sheep and cattle farming, agriculture, and mining. There are about 20,000,000 sheep in the colony. The islands possess 2,400 miles of railway.
- Exports-The chief exports are wool and frozen mutton, hides and frozen beef, grain, gold, coal, and silver.

Religion-There is no state church ; all religions are tolerated. Education-Education is free, secular, and compulsory.

(b) Tasmania.

See page 147 for additional information.

(c) Papua.

Papua, or New Guinea, lies north of Queensland, from which it is separated by Torres Strait, 90 miles wide. It is 1,500 miles in length from north-west to sou h-east, and varies in breadth from 200 to 450 miles. Surface-In the interior are lofty mountains extending throughout the

entire length of the island. Large rivers rise in these mountains. The island is covered for the most part with dense forests of eedar, india-rubber, sandal-wood, ebony, etc. It is only partly explored.

Climate-The climate is tropical, hot, moist, and in the rainy season very unhealthy.

- Soil-The soil is ... ry fertile. The natives cultivate rice, maize, yams, cocoanuts, sago, sugar-cane, bananas, etc.
- Political Divisions-In 1885 the island was partitioned among Dutch, Germans, and British. The Dutch received the western half of the island, the Germans the northern part of the eastern half, and the British received the south-eastern part. The British part is governed by the Australian Commonwealth.