represent the Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

The B.N.A. Act gives the Senate exactly the same powers as the House of Commons, except that money bills must originate in the Commons.

The House of Commons

In 1867, pursuant to Section 37 of the B.N.A. Act, it was provided that the House of Commons should consist of 181 members. The Act provided in Section 51 that Quebec should have a fixed number of 65 members and that each of the other provinces should be assigned such a number of members as would bear the same proportion to its population as the number 65 bore to the population of Quebec. This Act also provided that, on completion of a census in 1871 and after each subsequent decennial census, the representation of the provinces should be readjusted, provided that the proportionate representation of the provinces fixed by the Act remained undisturbed. Membership in the House of Commons was accordingly increased from time to time, until it reached 255.

As a result of some dissatisfaction with the manner in which these provisions of the B.N.A. Act relating to representation had failed to maintain equitably the proportionate representation of the provinces, the original Section 51 was repealed in 1946, and new sections were substituted in 1946, 1952 and finally in 1974-75. In the interim, as a result of the union of Newfoundland with Canada in 1949, provision was made for the Province of Newfoundland to be represented by seven members in the House of Commons (B.N.A. Act, 1949, 12-13 Geo. VI, c.22 (U.K.)). Also, in the 1952 revision of Section 51, a provision was introduced in an effort to eliminate sharp reductions in provincial representation from one census to another.

These provision have been incorporated in the Representation Act, 1974 (23 Eliz. II, c.13), which substituted a new Subsection 51(1) of the British North America Act, to be cited as the B.N.A. Act (No. 2), 1974. The new Subsection 51(1) establishes a complicated set of rules and protective exceptions that centre largely round the idea of an assignment to Quebec of a fixed number of members (initially 75, but to be increased by four additional members in each subsequent decennial readjustment), and the fixing thereby of an electoral quotient for the purpose of fixing the representation of the other provinces. The provisions of the new Subsection 51(1) continue to take into account the effect of Section 51A, added by the B.N.A. Act, 1915 (5-6 Geo. V, c.45 (U.K.)). That section provides that, notwithstanding any of the representation rules, "a pro-