

OCTAVO DECIMO

## REGINÆ. VICTORIÆ

## CAP. III.

AN ACT to increase the present number of Representatives in the General Assembly of this Island, and to Regulate the Representation thereof.

[Passed 30th November, 1854.]

HEREAS by Proclamation bearing date the Twenty-Sixth Day of July, in the Third Year of the Reign of His late Majesty King William the Fourth, this Island was divided into Nine Districts, for the Preamble. purpose of the Election of the Members of the Assembly thereof; by which Proclamation, the said Districts were authorised to return Fifteen Persons to Represent them as Members of the said Assembly, in the manner mentioned and provided in and by the said Proclamation: And whereas, for the good Government of this Island, it is expedient and necessary that there should be an Increase of Representatives therein:-

I.-Be it therefore enacted, by the Governor, Council and Assembly, House of Assemin Legislative Session convened, that from and after the passing of this bly to consist of Act, the House of Assembly shall consist of Thirty Members, of whom Ten shall be a Quorum; and that for the purpose of the Election of the Division of Dis-Members of the said Assembly, this Island shall be divided as follows:— tricts. That is to say; The District of Twillingate and Fogo, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Twillingate and Fogo, and shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by Two Members. The District of Bonavista, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Bonavista, and shall be Represented in the said General Assembly by Three Members. The District of Trinity, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Trinity, and shall be Represented in the said General The District of Conception Bay, which Assembly by Three Members. shall be comprised within the limits of the present Electoral District of Conception Bay, and shall be Represented in the General Assembly by Seven Members; of whom Two shall be chosen by the Electors residing in that part of the said District, to be called the Southern Division thereof, lying between the District of Saint John's and Turk's Gut inclusive; one by the Electors residing in that part of the said District to be called the