The Budget--Miss Grey

Miss Grey: Mr. Speaker, I believe that the people of my riding, supported by the Reform Party and its platforms and policies, feel that universality, if I could speak specifically about child care, is probably a waste of money and that these programs should be targeted to people who need them. In other words, we may be discriminating against parents who choose to raise their children at home. We believe firmly that these programs should be targeted to those who need them in terms of universality.

Regarding medicare, we feel that medicare is for the sick and not for the poor. We also feel very strongly that that should not be eroded and that that is a service that people pay for. The public would be very upset to see that eroded.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): It being 5.45 o'clock p.m., it is my duty, pursuant to Standing Order 84(4), to interrupt the proceedings and put forthwith every question necessary to dispose of the amendment to the amendment now before the House. Accordingly, the question is on the amendment to the amendment standing in the name of the Hon. Member for Yorkton-Melville (Mr. Nystrom). Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the amendment to the amendment?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon, Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed to the motion will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the amendment to the amendment, which was negatived on the following division:

• (1810)

(Division No. 8)

YEAS

Members

Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre) Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Barrett Bélair Bellemare Benjamin Berger Blackburn (Brant) Bevilacqua Blaikie Blondin Boudria Butland Broadbent Campbell (South West Nova) Catterall Clancy Comuzzi Copps Crawford de Jong Dingwall Dionne Duhamel Ferguson Fisher Fulton Flis Funk Gaffney Gardiner Gauthier Gray (Windsor West) Grey (Beaver River) Guarnier Harb Harvard Harvey (Edmonton East) Heap Hopkins Hoydebo Hunter Iordan Karpoff Kilger (Stormont - Dundas) Keyes Langdon (Essex - Windsor) Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) Laporte LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) MacAulay MacDonald (Dartmouth) MacLaren MacLellan MacWilliam Maheu Malépart Manley Marleau Martin (Lasalle-Émard) McCurdy McGuire McLaughlin Milliken Mills Mitchell Nunziata Nystrom Ouellet Pagtakhan Parker Peterson Phinney Pickard Proud Rideout Prud'homme Robichaud Robinson Rocheleau Rodriguez Skelly (North Island—Powell River) Stewart Stupich Taylor Turner (Vancouver Quadra) Walker Waddell Wappel Wood Young (Beaches - Woodbine) - 99

NAYS

Members

Anderson Andre Atkinson Attewell Beatty Bernier Bertrand Bjornson Blackburn (Jonquière) Blais Blenkarn Bouchard (Roberval) Bouchard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Brightwell Browes Cardiff Casey Chadwick Champagne (Champlain) Charest Cole Collins Cook Cooper Couture Crosby (Halifax West)

Darling DeBlois de Cotre Della Noce Desjardins Dick Dobbie Domm Dorin Duplessis Edwards Epp Feltham Ferland Fontaine

Fee