Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act

That the question be now put.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the Members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. McDermid) which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 48)

YEAS

Members

Andre Dorin Attewell Duguay Beatty Edwards Belsher Epp Bernier (Provencher) Bertrand Fennell Binns Ferland Blais Fontaine Blenkarn Forrestall Blouin Fraleigh Bouchard Fretz Bourgault Friesen Brightwell Gagnon Brisco Gass Browes Gérin Cadieux Gervais Caldwell Girard Cardiff Gormley Clark (Brandon-Souris) (Bonaventure-Îles-de-Clifford la-Madeleine) Clinch Gustafson Coates Halliday Collins Hamilton Comeau Hardey Cook Harvey Cooper Hawkes Côté Hicks (Lac-Saint-Jean) Hnatyshyn Côté Hockin (Langelier) Holtmann Crofton Horner Crombie Howie Crosbie James (St. John's West) Jenson Crosby Jourdenais (Halifax West) Kelleher Crouse Kempling Darling Kilgour Daubney Kindy de Cotre King Desiardins Ladouceur Domm Landry

Lawrence Layton Leblanc Lesick Lewis Lopez MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) MacDougall (Timiskaming) MacKay Mantha Martin Mayer Mazankowski McCrossan McCuish McDougall (St. Paul's) McInnes McKenzie McKinnon McMillan Merrithew Minaker Moore Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Nowlan Oberle Oostrom Pennock Peterson Pietz Porter Ravis Redway Reid Reimer St. Germain

La Salle

Schellenberg (Nanaimo—Alberni)
Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin)
Scott (Victoria—Haliburton)
Scott (Hamilton—Wentworth)
Scowen
Shields Siddon
Sparrow
Stackhouse

Stewart
Tardif
(Charlesbourg)
Thacker
Towers
Tremblay
(Québec-Est)
Tremblay
(Lotbinière)
Tupper
Tupper
Turner
(Ottawa—Carleton)
Van De Walle

Warner White Wilson (Swift Current— Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Winegard Wise—142

NAYS

Members

Allmand Althouse Axworthy Benjamin Blackhurn (Brant) Boudria Broadbent Caccia Cassidy Copps de Corneille Dingwall Finestone Foster Frith Fulton Gagliano Gauthier

Grav (Windsor West) Grondin Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Henderson Hopkins Hovdebo Jewett Keeper Langdon MacLellan Malépart Manly McCurdy McDonald (Broadviev Greenwood) Mitchell

Nicholson (Trinity) Nystrom Orlikow Parry Penner Pépin Prud'homme Riis Robichaud Robinson Rodriguez Rompkey Rossi Tardif (Richmond-Wolfe) Tobin Toupin

Young -50

• (1640)

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the amendment carried.

Mr. McKnight: I was inadvertently delayed in entering the Chamber. You were reading the question when I entered, Mr. Speaker, and respecting tradition and having decorum maintained in the House, I did not vote. I would have voted with the Government had I been here.

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The next question is on the main motion. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen: