1974 June

Reference Papers

No. 109 (Revised June 1974)

GENERAL ELECTIONS IN CANADA

Dept. of External Anairs Min. des Affaires exterieures

SEP 1/ 1998

RETURN TO DEPARTMENTAL LIBRARY RETOURNER A LA RIPLIOTHEQUE DU MINISTERE

Canadians choose their Federal Governments through general elections for the House of Commons, the leading law-making body in the country.

The Canadian Constitution requires the election of a new House of Commons at least once every five years. This is called a federal general election to distinguish it from the many other elections held in Canada.

At each federal general election, 264 legislators, representing the same number of constituencies, are chosen to sit in the House of Commons. They are called Members of Parliament or M.P.s. The leader of the party with the most seats becomes Prime Minister and forms a Government, which thereafter remains answerable to the House for its policies and actions.

Under Canadian law, representation in the House of Commons must be reviewed at ten-year intervals, after each decennial census. The review normally results in the redrawing of a number of electoral boundaries. This work is carried out by an electoral redistribution commission in each of the ten provinces.

The voting populations of constituencies range from 12,000 (Yukon Territory) to 130,000 (Toronto's York-Scarborough), and average 50,000.

The Prime Minister chooses 25 or more individuals from his party to serve with him as Ministers in the Cabinet. Though one or two may be Members of the non-elective Upper House, the Senate, all usually are Members of the House of Commons or are elected to that House after their appointment.

The Cabinet, consisting of the Prime Minister and the other Ministers, discharges the executive functions of Government. Individual members administer different government departments such as finance, agriculture, external affairs, justice. In addition, there are sometimes one or more Cabinet members known as Ministers without Portfolio, who are not in charge of departments but may be assigned by the Prime Minister to carry out specific executive functions within departments.