Canada and Security at the United Nations

The United Nations deals with arms control, disarmament, and regional conflict issues in a number of different forums, including:

- a) The Plenary of the General Assembly
- b) The Security Council
- c) The First (Political and Security) Committee
- d) The Special Political Committee
- e) The United Nations Disarmament Commission
- f) Various Ad Hoc Committees and bodies
 - g) Various study groups
 - h) The Conference on Disarmament (CD)

a) The Plenary of the General Assembly

In general, the General Assembly may discuss any issues or matters within the scope of the United Nations Charter. One of its main purposes, however, is to refer agenda items to the seven Main Committees, including the First and Special Political Committees. All UN members have the right to representation on the Main Committees. Following deliberation on these items by the Committees, draft resolutions are voted upon and, in turn, referred back to the General Assembly. Resolutions are then finalized by votes taken in the Plenary.

b) The Security Council

The Security Council has the primary responsibility within the UN system for maintenance of international peace and security. Its main functions include peaceful settlement of disputes and action taken to ensure and encourage peace. The Council reacts to international events as they arise and, as in the case of the establishment of peacekeeping operations, implements measures to prevent or reduce conflict. The Security Council consists of fifteen members, five of whom are permanent (China, France, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, and the United States), and ten members elected on a regional basis by the General Assembly for two-year terms. Decisions on procedural matters require the support of nine members. All other decisions require an affirmative vote by nine members including the five permanent members, who each hold a veto. In October 1988, Canada was elected to the Security Council for a two-year term for the fifth time since 1946. The remaining members of the Security Council are: Algeria, Ethiopia, Malaysia, Nepal, Senegal, Yugoslavia, Brazil, Colombia, and Finland.