mencing on August 31, 1915, all Canadian passports were numbered and a ten-section single-sheet folder was adopted. This form was adopted simultaneously throughout the British Commonwealth and became the distinctive type of British-subject passport. The Passport Conference of 1920 recommended a booklet type of passport, which became known as the "International" passport and was adopted in Canada in 1921. The Conference of 1920 also recommended that all passports be written in at least two languages, one of which was to be French, and that their validity be for at least two years and preferably for five. The Conference of 1926 recommended further improvements in the International passport. Since 1924, subject to certain exceptions made necessary during wartime, Canadian passports have been made valid for five years at time of first issuance, with a potential maximum life of ten years, allowing for renewals. Since 1926, all Canadian passports have been printed in English and French.

A change in Canadian passports rules made in 1930 reflected Canada's growth to national status. Previously, holders of passports abroad were referred to the nearest British consulate for renewals. In 1930 they were directed to "the Canadian Legation" in the country in which they were residing, or to the nearest British Consulate.

No Legal Right

as

ot

n,

ry

oſ

2-

nt

he

:ts

he

ed

ch

c.

by

en

ng

/as

1al

ms

or•

ıti-

nts

m.

A further indication of Canada's new status is to be seen in the termination of the Governor-General's connection with Canadian passports on April 12, 1946, and the substitution of the name of the Secretary of State for External Affairs in the "Letter of Request" appearing on the inside of the front cover. Canadian passport now are issued by the Secretary of State for External Affairs in the exercise of the Royal Prerogative; that is, issuance of passports is vested in the Sovereign, and this right is exercised on the Sovereign's behalf by the Secretary of State for External Affairs. There is no statute governing the issuance of passports and no person has a legal right to a passport. The right of the appropriate Minister, in the name of the Sovereign, to withhold or recover a passport, is exercised in very rare cases. For instance, if a person has acquired a foreign citizenship and thereby ceased to be a Canadian citizen, clearly the "letter" from the Sovereign needs to be withdrawn.

When the Canadian Citizenship Act became effective on January 1, 1947, a new passport was adopted for Canadian citizens only. The High Commissioner of the United Kingdom, on July 2, 1948, assumed responsibility for the issuance of passports in Canada to persons who were British subjects but not Canadian citizens and who were not eligible for passports of other Commonwealth countries. Since July 2, 1948, no passports have been issued by the Canadian Government except to Canadian citizens.

Since May 6, 1946, Canadian ordinary passports have had a series number preceding the identification number of the passport itself. Series 1 was instituted on the date mentioned, Series 2 on October 2, 1946, Series 3 on January 1, 1947, Series 4 on September 29, 1948, while Series 5 passports were put into use in