Great Britain no government can maintain itself in power which has not a majority in the assembly elected by the people.

PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT.

The system of government in New Brunswick is similar to that which prevails in the Dominion except that there is but one legislative body, the House of Assembly, which is elected by the people. Responsible Government prevails to its fullest extent, and the existence of the government depends on the vote of the House of Assembly. In New Brunswick there is an executive council of seven members, five of whom are heads of departments and receive salaries. These are the Attorney-General, Provincial Secretary, Surveyor-General, Chief Commissioner of Public Works and Commissioner for Agriculture. The names of these officials sufficiently indicate their duties. The Provincial Secretary is also Receiver-General and handles all the revenues of the province. The Attorney-General attends to its law business and is the legal adviser of the government. The Surveyor-General is at the head of the Crown Land Department, which is the greatest revenue producing department of the government. This department deals with timber lands, mining, game, fish and immigration, The Chief Commissioner of Public Works has jurisdiction over the roads and bridges of the country and all provincial works of a similar character. The Commissioner of Agriculture attends to the wants of the farmers and all business for the promotion of the agricultural interests of the province. Every male resident is a voter for legislature and parliamentary elections.

MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT.

New Brunswick is divided into fifteen counties, each of which is a municipality and is governed by a body