

CANADIAN DELEGATION TO THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY

(EIGHTEENTH SESSION)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PRESS RELEASE NO. 2 September 13, 1963.

Press Office 750 Third Avenue YUkon 6-5740

Further to our Press Release No. 1 of September 9, 1963, the Prime Minister, the Right Honourable Lester B. Pearson, has announced the following names to the list of Parliamentary Observers in the Canadian Delegation to the Eighteenth Session of the United Nations General Assembly.

The Hon. Schator Olive L. Irvine - Member of the Senate of Canada.

The Hon. Hugh John Flemming, M.P. - Member of Parliament for Victoria Carleton, N.B.

Mr. Gilles Gregoire, M.P. - Member of Parliament for Lapointe, Que.

Brief biographical sketches of these Parliamentary Observers are as follows:

THE HON. SENATOR OLIVE L. IRVINE

Mrs. Irvine was educated at Portage la Prairie and Winnipeg Normal Schools. A former teacher. She was former President of the Women's Conservative Association of Manitoba and former President of South Winnipeg Association. Mrs. Irvine has been Manitoba's representative on the National Capital Commission since February 1959. She was summoned to the Senate on January 14, 1960. Party: Progressive Conservative. Home: Winnipeg, Man.

THE HON. HUGH JOHN FLEMMING, M.P.

Mr. Flemming is Member of Parliament for Victoria-Carleton, N.B. He started his political career when he became Municipal Councillor, County of Carleton, 1921-1933; Elected to the New Brunswick Legislature at the general elections in 1944; Re-elected at general elections 1948, 1952 and 1956; Sworn in as Premier of New Brunswick, 1952; Minister of Municipal Affairs, 1952. First elected to House of Commons, Ottawa, at a by-election, 1960; Re-elected general elections 1962; Appointed Minister of Forestry in Conservative Government, 1960; Appointed Minister of National Revenue, 1962. Home: Ottawa, Ontario.

MR. GILLES GREGOIRE, M.P.

Mr. Gregoire is Member of Parliament for Lapointe, Quebec. He was educated at St. Louis de Conzague College, Quebec, Jesuits College of Quebec and Laval University, Quebec. He was first elected to the House of Commons in 1962. Party: Social Credit, Home: Quebec, Que.