AUTHOR'S NOTE: I would like to thank a number of people for their help and encouragement during the preparation of this history of the Canadian Trade Commission in Hong Kong. Former Trade Commissioners who contributed generously to this project include Robert Godson, Tom Fletcher, Max Forsyth-Smith and Jon Swanson, as well as the incumbent, Maurice Hladik. Christine Desloges and Lynda Watson also helped out with the present era. Other important contributions were made by Elvie Arnold, Eva Leigh, Bernard Yeung, and Doris Ho, all long term and valuable employees of the Commission. Other material and photographs were provided by the Hongkong and Shanghai Bank, the South China Morning Post, Canadian Pacific, and the library of the Department of External Affairs in Ottawa, specifically Deborah Welch and Margaret Bull. I hope everyone feels it turned out as they hoped.

- P. Pigott

