PROTOCOL AMENDING THE INTERNATIONAL ACCORD ON GERMAN-OWNED PATENTS OF JULY 27, 1946

Signed at London, July 17, 1947

The Governments parties to the International Accord on German-owned Patents drawn up in London on 27th day of July, 1946:

Desiring to amend in certain respects the aforesaid Accord:

Have agreed as follows:

ARTICLE 1

Article 3 of the International Accord on German-owned Patents drawn up in London on 27th day of July, 1946, shall be amended by the deletion of the words "regardless of where such products are manufactured" and the insertion of the words "provided that such products are manufactured in a country or territory to which the Accord applies," after the word "inventions."

ARTICLE 2

Article 9 of the aforesaid Accord is amended by the substitution therefor of the following paragraphs:

"The Government of any other member of the United Nations, or of any country which remained neutral during the Second World War, may also become a party to this Accord by notifying the Government of the United Kingdom of its acceptance thereof before 31st July, 1947. The Government of the United Kingdom shall inform all Governments represented at the Conference in London on German-owned patents, or which have accepted this Accord under this Article, of all acceptances so notified.

"Any Government accepting this Accord between 1st January, 1947, and 31st July, 1947, undertakes that, in exercising the right provided for in Article 4, it will not protect or preserve rights or interests granted to or acquired by any non-German subsequently to 1st August, 1946."

In witness whereof the undersigned, duly authorized thereto by their respective Governments, have signed the present Protocol.

Done in London this 17th day of July, 1947, in English and in French, both texts being equally authentic, in a single copy, which shall remain deposited in the archives of the Government of the United Kingdom.

The Government of the United Kingdom shall transmit certified copies of this Protocol to all Governments represented at the Conference in London on German-owned patents and to any Government which has become or is entitled to become a party to the Accord under the provisions of Article 9 thereof, as hereby amended.

(Here follow the names of the signatories for the Union of South Africa, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, the French Republic, the United Kingdom, Guatemala, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay (subject to constitutional approval,) Poland, Syria, Turkey, the United States of America, Venezuela (ad referendum)).