SPECIAL COMMITTEE

years around 1850. Upper and Lower Canada had united in 1841, but the union was not happy. After years of troublesome times, these two colonies proposed to unite with the three Maritime Provinces in a scheme of Confederation. This proposal culminated in Confederation, effective July 1, 1867, of four Provinces, Upper Canada (now Ontario), Lower Canada (now Quebec), Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

33. Development Since Confederation. Since 1867, other Provinces have entered the Confederation. Some of these had already been established as Colonies; others were newly created out of the vast Prairies of the West. In 1870, the Province of Manitoba was carved out of the Prairies and added to the Union. At first a small Province, it has several times had its boundaries enlarged. In 1871, British Columbia, an established Colony, came into the Confederation; in 1873, Prince Edward Island, also an established Colony, entered the Union. In 1905, Alberta and Saskatchewan were created Provinces and made members of the union. In 1911, great additions were made to the territory of Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. The territory north of the four Western Provinces is called the North-West Territory and is still administered by the Dominion. Throughout this whole period there was substantial growth of settlement, industry and trade, all accompanied by corresponding growth in population.

34. Canadian Population. The original inhabitants—Indians—have been deprived of their patrimony, but only on terms satisfactory to themselves. They are now wards of the government, and are well and kindly treated. The original French colonists have greatly increased in numbers, and are established mainly in the Province of Quebec. They constitute about 30 per cent of the whole population of the Dominion. The British settlers increased by natural growth and immigration. They comprise about 50 per cent of the entire population. The remaining 20 per cent is composed of people of many national origins, chiefly from Central Europe.

V. HOW CANADA IS GOVERNED

35. General Statement. The Canadian people govern themselves. They do so by selecting from among their citizens certain persons and investing them with power and authority to govern and so manage public affairs in accordance with the laws of the land. These representatives are answerable for all their public actions to the people who elect them. In this way Canadians have representative, responsible government—a form of government which is regarded as essential to a liberty-loving nation.

36. The Laws of the Land. These are many and varied. Some of these are found in the decisions of our courts, based on custom and usage, and are known as *Case Law*. Others are enacted by the parliament of Canada and by legislatures of the provinces—and are *Statute Law*. Still others are enacted by the imperial parliament, at the request of Canada. These deal only with our political structure and form our *Fundamental Law*—our *Constitution*.

37. The Constitution of Canada is modelled upon that of Great Britain. It is partly *written* and partly *unwritten*. The written part is embodied in the British North America Act (1867) and the few amendments thereto. The unwritten part is to be found in certain customs and usages long established in Great Britain and adopted by Canada.

38. The British North America Act (abbreviated B.N.A. Act), contains the terms upon which the original four provinces entered Confederation, and provided for the entry of other provinces. It sets forth the scheme of government established both for the Dominion and for the several provinces. The Act

24