Andre

Beatty

Blaikie

Bosley

Clark

Cook

Cooper Corbett

Crosbie

Crouse

Dantzer

Darling

Domm

Elzinga Fennell Forrestall

Dick

Ellis

Fretz

Friesen

Fulton

Gilchrist

Gustafson

Halliday

Allmand

Axworthy

Bachand

(Mrs.) Bégin (Miss)

Baker

Berger

Blaker Bloomfield

Bossy

Breau

Bujold

Caccia

Bockstael

Burghardt Bussières

Campbell

Chénier

Chrétien

Comtois

Corbin

Collenette

Corriveau Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.)

Cousineau

Cullen

Cyr Daudlin

(LaSalle)

Campbell (Cardigan)

Campbell (Miss)

(South West Nova)

Blais

Appolloni (Mrs.)

Beauchamp-Niquet

Gurbin

Gass

Cossitt (Mrs.)

Cardiff

Carney (Miss)

(Brandon-Souris)

(St. John's West)

Blenkarn

Benjamin

Blackburn

The Budget-Mr. Mazankowski

The current Leader of this Government promised in 1980 that Government would keep the level of expenditures on a consistent basis with that of the then current percentage vis-à-vis the gross national product. Since 1968, Mr. Speaker, there has been only one balanced budget. What about the future? We have a \$31.5 billion deficit at the end of this fiscal year; \$29.6 billion for next year; \$27.9 billion for 1985-86; \$27.1 billion for 1986-87 and \$26.1 billion for 1987-88.

Mr. Blenkarn: That is if you believe its projections.

Mr. Mazankowski: Yes, that is if you believe its projections. And this \$31.5 billion deficit was to have been \$11 billion-

Mr. Blenkarn: That's right.

Mr. Mazankowski: -as estimated by the former Minister of Finance. Therefore, the problem, Mr. Speaker, is that this Government has no credibility. No one trusts it. No one believes it. The only way we will restore confidence in this nation is to bring in a brand new Government, and it will be a Progressive Conservative Government. Only then will the country be really working.

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): Order, please. It being 5.45 p.m., it is my duty, pursuant to Standing Order 65(7), to interrupt the proceedings and put forthwith any question needed to dispose of the amendment now before the House.

[English]

The question, therefore, is on the amendment. Mr. Crosbie, seconded by Mr. Hees moves:

That the motion be amended by deleting all the words after the word "That" and substituting the following therefor:

this House regrets the failure of the government to present measures designed to reduce Canada's budgetary deficit, lower existing high interest rates, reduce crippling high levels of unemployment or to create meaningful pension reform all of which are needed as a result of years of government economic mismanagement and condemns the government for its continued misuse of public funds and arrogant maladministration which have led to a crisis in public trust and confidence in government.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nav.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): Call in the Members.

(Division No. 19)

YEAS

Messrs

Hamilton (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Heap Hees Hnatyshyn Howie Huntington Jarvis Jelinek Jewett (Ms.) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Keeper Kempling Kilgour King Knowles Kristiansen Lambert La Salle Lawrence Lewis Lewycky MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands) MacDougall Manly Mazankowski McCain McCuish McDermid McDonald (Ms.) (Broadview-Greenwood) McGrath McKenzie McKinnon McLean

McMillan Miller Mitchell (Ms.) Mitges Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murphy Neil Nickerson Nielsen Nowlan Nystrom Orlikow Paproski Parker Patterson Reid (St. Catharines) Robinso (Burnaby) Roche St. Germain Schellenberger Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Shields Siddon Skelly Speyer Stewart Taylor Towers Vankoughnet Wise Young-97.

NAYS Messrs

Dawson De Bané de Corneille Demers Deniger Desmarais Dion Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Dubois Duclos Dupont Dupras Erola (Mrs.) Ethier Evans Fergusor Fisher Fleming Flis Foster Frith Garant Gauthier Gendron Gimaïel Gingras Gourd (Argenteuil-Papineau) Gourde (Lévis) Gray Guilbault Harquail Henderson Herbert

Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.) Hopkins Hudecki Irwin Isabelle Ittinuar Johnston Joyal Kelly Killens (Mrs.) Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Lamontagne Landers Lang Laniel Lapierre Lapointe (Charlevoix) Lapointe (Beauce) LeBlanc Leduc Lefebvre Loiselle Lumley MacBain MacGuigan Mackasey MacLaren MacLellan Malépart Maltais Marceau Massé

1696