Division

(Translation):

Mr. Jean-Paul Racine (Beauce): Mr. Speaker, I should like to make a few brief remarks following an answer given to me last night by the minister to the effect that rural telephone companies were not included among the service businesses mentioned in this bill.

I know that many of those companies will be disappointed at not being included under the terms of this bill. We know that the Canadian association of independent telephone companies represents some 650 independent telephone companies in Quebec and Ontario which serve over 280,000 subscribers. In a brief dated March 23, 1959, they have already asked the minister to be included under the Industrial Development Bank Act. Such action has not yet been taken, I believe. It would have been a good opportunity for the minister to appreciate the problems with which those companies are faced. Being small companies, they cannot make use of public funds for their development.

The Minister of Finance (Mr. Fleming) has already answered a brief of those companies, I think, telling them that their requests would be considered at this session. I hope this will be done in the near future.

It was my intention to introduce an amendment, but I shall not do so on account of the very important legislation to be considered this afternoon. I hope the minister will give further consideration to this matter and, if he deems it advisable, suggest an amendment in the other place.

(Text):

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Fleming, Eglinton) which was agreed to on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs.

Aitken, Miss Allard Allmark Anderson Argue Badanai Balcer Baldwin Barrington Baskin Batten Beach Bell (Carleton) Bell (Saint John-Albert) Belzile Benidickson Best Bissonnette Boulanger Bourdages Bourget Bourque

Browne (St. John's West) Browne (Vancouver-Kingsway) Bruchesi Brunsden Cadieu Campbell (Lambton-Kent) Campbell (Stormont) Cardiff Cardin Caron Carter Casselman, Mrs. Cathers Chambers Charlton Chevrier Chown Churchill Clancy Clermont Coates Comtois

Cooper

Creaghan Crestohl Crouse Danforth Denis Deschambault Diefenbaker Dorion Doucett Drouin Drysdale Dubois Dumas Dunnis English Eudes Fairclough, Mrs. Fairfield Fane Fisher Fleming (Eglinton) Forbes Forgie Frechette Fulton Grafftev Grills Gundlock Habel Hales Hamilton (Notre Dame de Grace) Hanbidge Harkness Hees Hellver Henderson Herridge Hicks Hodgson Horner (Acadia) Horner (Jasper-Edson) Horner (The Battlefords) Howard Howe Johnson Jones Jorgenson Keays Kennedy Kindt Knowles Korchinski Kucherepa Lafreniere Lahave LaMarsh, Miss Lambert Latour Leduc Legere Lennard Letourneau Macdonald (Kings) Macdonnell MacInnis MacLean (Queens) MacLellan Macquarrie McBain McCleave McDonald (Hamilton South)

McFarlane

McGee

McGrath

McGregor

McIntosh

McMillan McPhillips McQuillan Maloney Martin (Essex East) Martineau Martini Matthews Mitchell Monteith (Perth) Monteith (Verdun) Montgomery More Morris Morton Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Muir (Lisgar) Nasserden Nielsen Nixon Noble Nugent O'Hurley O'Leary Ormiston Pallett Parizeau Pascoe Paul Payne Pearson Peters Phillips Pickersgill Pigeon Pitman Pratt Pugh Racine Rapp Ratelle Regnier Ricard Richard (Kamouraska) Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche) Roberge Robichaud Robinson Rogers Rompre Rynard Sevigny Simpson Skoreyko Slogan Small Smallwood Smith (Lincoln) Smith (Simcoe North) Southam Speakman Starr Stearns Stefanson Stewart Tardif Tassé Taylor Thomas Thrasher Tucker Valade Villeneuve Vivian Walker Webb

McLennan

[Mr. Speaker.]

Brassard (Chicoutimi)