Business of the House

Mr. St. Laurent: The hon. member for Lake Centre (Mr. Diefenbaker) says, "with a hidden report." The hon, member should make a more worthy defence of the position he occupies and not make an insinuation of that kind.

Mr. Diefenbaker: It is not an insinuation, it is the truth.

Mr. St. Laurent: The hon. member knows that there was no hidden report and he knows also that if he had been placed in the position in which the Minister of Justice (Mr. Garson) was placed his conduct would have been similar to that of the Minister of Justice.

Mr. Diefenbaker: There can be no justification to break the law.

Mr. St. Laurent: The hon. member for Lake Centre says that he does not think there is much in this amendment moved by the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre (Mr. Knowles). The government has no objection to the amendment. Hon. members say that this motion is designed to throttle parliament, but that assertion is ridiculous. All that is being done is to ask that there be more time when hon. members can say whatever they have to say about these bills. It is to remove something which would throttle debate upon them; that is the purpose of the motion before the house.

If the hon, member for Winnipeg North Centre wishes his amendment to pass, I have no objection to it. I do not think that much can be added to what has been said. A certain number of charters for pipe line companies have been granted. I have been told that these charters are regarded as being of considerable value and will be regarded as of greater value if no more are granted. Whether that be so or not, I do not know. I do think that having approved, as we did, of legislation that provides that these incorporations must be by act of parliament, when incorporators apply for an act of parliament they should be given an answer. It is for that reason and that reason only that the motion has been drafted. I do not remember who it was, but I can assure the hon, member who inquired that I drafted the motion myself.

Amendment (Mr. Knowles) negatived.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. St. Laurent) which was agreed to on the following division:

YEAS Messrs:

Anderson Applewhaite Ashbourne Beaudoin

Belzile Benidickson Bennett Bertrand

Blue Lafontaine Boisvert Laing Boivin Lapointe Larson Boucher Bradette Leger Brisson Little Brown (Essex West) Macdonald (Edmonton Bruneau East) MacDougall Byrne MacKenzie Campney Carroll MacLean (Cape Breton Carter North and Victoria) Cavers MacNaught Claxton McCann McCusker Cloutier Cote (Verdun-LaSalle) McIlraith Croll McIvor McLean (Huron-Perth) Darroch Martin Dechene Maybank Decore Mayhew Dewar Dickey Mott Murray (Oxford) Dion Douglas Murray (Cariboo) Mutch Dumas Nixon Elderkin Pouliot Ferrie Proudfoot Fournier (Hull) Prudham Garson Richard (Ottawa East) Gauthier (Lake St. John) Riley Gauthier (Sudbury) Roberge Gauthier (Lapointe) Gibson (Hamilton West) Robinson Rooney Goode Gosselin St. Laurent Simmons Gregg Sinclair Sinnott. Hellyer Smith (Moose Mountain) Henderson Stick Hetland Stuart (Charlotte) Studer Huffman

James Ward Jeffery Warren Jutras Whiteside Kent Whitman Kickham Winkler Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough) Winters Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth) Wood-108.

Hunter

Isnor

NAYS

Valois

Viau

Messrs:

Higgins Argue Balcer Johnston Beyerstein Black (Cumberland) Knight Blackmore Knowles Blair Lennard Bryce Low Catherwood Macdonnell (Greenwood) Charlton MacInnis Church McGregor Coldwell McLure Murphy Diefenbaker Noseworthy Drew Pearkes Fair Quelch Fleming Shaw Fraser Gagnon Smith (Calgary West) Stewart (Winnipeg Gillis Green North)

Hansell Thatcher Harkness Thomas Herridge Wright-43.

[Mr. Diefenbaker.]