OECD S&T Committee Structure and Canadian Representation

The Committee on Scientific and Technological Policy (CSTP) has the lead on S&T Policy cooperation in the OECD, although other committees are often involved as the work of the OECD is becoming more horizontal in nature. The CSTP approves the mandates and work of its subsidiary bodies and recommends reports, studies and conferences etc. to the OECD Council for approval. Canada is represented on the Council by Ambassador Suzanne Hurtubise and on the CSTP by Marie Tobin, Director General, Innovation Policy Branch, Industry Canada. The CSTP meets twice a year. Isabelle Roy from the Permanent Delegation of Canada to the OECD, is responsible for following S&T activities.

The four CSTP subsidiary bodies, which also normally meet twice a year, and the current Canadian heads of delegation are as follows:

- Working Party of National Experts on S&T Indicators (NESTI) Fred Gault, Director, Services, Science and Technology Division, Statistics Canada.
- Working Party on Biotechnology John Jaworski, Senior Industry Development Officer, Life Sciences Branch, Industry Canada.
- Global Science Forum Marshall Moffat, Director, Knowledge Infrastructure Directorate, Innovation Policy, Industry Canada, and Nigel Lloyd, Director General, Research Grants, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council.
- Working Party on Innovation and Technology Policy (TIP) Jeanne Inch, Director, and Don Vernon, Marketplace Innovation Directorate, Innovation Policy Branch, Industry Canada.

Except for NESTI, which is attended by Statistics Canada, Industry Canada has the policy lead for Canada, in cooperation with the interested science-based departments and agencies (SBDAs). As for most OECD bodies, however, Canadian instructions and major policy positions are coordinated through DFAIT. Instructions are normally provided in advance, and meeting reports are issued via the Permanent Delegation of Canada.

There is increasing activity between formal meetings, both between member economies and the Secretariat and among interested members, through Email communications and various limited electronic discussion groups. The Internet-based "Olisnet" electronic distribution system for official OECD documents allows access by government users. There are two non-member country observers to the CSTP, which have virtually the same privileges as full members, namely, South Africa and Israel. The European Commission participates in all OECD activities by special arrangement. In addition, there is increasing cooperation with the private sector and civil society, through both formal and informal channels, including special consultations and briefings, participation by