of the Board of Harbour Commissioners of Montreal, was elected First P1 sident, Mr. M. P. Fennell, Jr., became Treasurer, Lieut.-Colonel C. G. Williams, Hon. Secretary-Treasurer, and the following line of local action was announced:

I. A thoroughly organized educational campaign in matters pertaining to the Navy and Mercantile Marine.

(a) By lectures.

Vill

111

(b) By the circulation of literature.

(c) By placing Readers in public schools.

2. To raise funds for the relief of British and Canadian sailors and their dependents, for Sailor's Homes, Institutes and Hospitals in Canada and throughout the Empire.

3. To encourage volunteer Naval Brigades for boys and young men in which they can receive practical and theoretical instruction in seamanship to prepare them for service in our Mercantile Marine.

It was laid down as a fundamental principle of the League that its objects, membership, management and conduct should be absolutely unconnected with and free from all party politics and from any organization connected with party politics. Winnipeg, Victoria, Hamilton, Quebec, Toronto, and one or two other places in Canada had already formed Branches of the Navy League of England. The Winnipeg Branch became the nucleus of the Manitoba Division of the Canadian organization; Victoria, the nucleus of the British Columbia Division. The Quebec Branch came into the Quebec Division. The Toronto Branch became the nucleus of the Ontario Division, and later the Hamilton Branch also joined. The other Provinces all fell into line, and on the 1st of Pebruary, 1918, the first general meeting was held, and the present Constitution adopted. The Governor-General and the Duchess of Devonshire, and the Lieutenant-Governors of all the Provincer remained Patrons of the League. Sir John C. Eaton of Toronto, and Mr. T. B. Macaulay of Montreal, became Hon. Presidents, and the following, by virtue of their Presidency of Provincial Divisions, became the first Dominion Council:

	- outfour ooutfour
Alberta	Pat. Burns
Saskatchewan	G. E. McCraney
Manitoba	
British Columbia	
Ontario	
Nova Scotia	
New Brunswick	
Prince Edward Island	

In Ontario, Sir John C. Eaton, S.S.D., was and is the Hon. President; Æmilius Jarvis, S.S.D., President; Sir John Aird, Vice-President; and in turn Lieut.-Colonel C. G. Williams and H. W. King have been Secretary-Treasurer, with the Chairmen of all Branches and following gentlemen as the Executive:

F. F. Brentnall J. Castell Hopkins Major H. C. MacLean Hon. James Craig N. L. Martin H. G. Kelly F. D. L. Smith H. N. Cowan C. T. Pearce J. M. Godfrey Commander F. C. Law George E. Evans H. H. Macrae Commodore C. G. Marlatt A. M. Hobberlin Rev. Father Burke W. J. Lind Robert Inglis C. A. B. Brown W. Wily H. J. Wickham