# National Transportation Act, 1986

# GOVERNMENT ORDERS

[Translation]

# **NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION ACT, 1986**

### MESURE TO ENACT

The House resumed from Wednesday, June 17, consideration of the motion of Mr. Crosbie that Bill C-18, An Act respecting national transportation, be read the third time and passed.

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to order made Tuesday, June 16, 1987, the House will now proceed with the deferred recorded division on third reading of Bill C-18, and Act respecting national transportation.

Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Crosbie), which was agreed to on the following division:

• (1120)

# (Division No. 217)

### YEAS

#### Members

Andre Ferland Mantha Attewell Fontaine Masse Beatty Mayer Belsher Mazankowski Fraleigh Bernier Fretz McCain Blais Friesen McCrossan Blenkarn Gagnon McCuish Bouchard McDougall Bourgault Gottselig (St. Paul's) Boyer McInnes (Bonaventure-Îles-de-Bradley McKenzie Brightwell la-Madeleine) McKinnon Browes Greenaway McKnight Cadieux Grisé McMillan Cardiff Guilbault Merrithew Champagne (Drummond) Minaker (Champlain) Gustafson Mitges Charest Nickerson Clark Harvey Nowlan (Brandon-Souris) Hawkes Oberle Clifford Hees Oostrom Clinch Hnatyshyn Paproski Holtmann Pennock Comean Horner Peterson Corbett Howie Pietz Cossitt James Plourde Côté Porter Jelinek (Lac-Saint-Jean) Ravis Jepson Côté Redway Joncas (Langelier) Jourdenais Reid Kempling Reimer Crombie Kindy St-Julien Schellenberger King (St. John's West) Lanthier (Wetaskiwin) Crosby Scott Lawrence (Halifax West) (Victoria-Haliburton) Dantzer Lesick Scowen Darling Lewis Shields de Cotret MacDonald Della Noce (Kingston and Sparrow Dick the Islands) Speyer Stackhouse MacDougall (Timiskaming) Stewart Ellis MacKay Suluk Mailly

Tardif
(Charlesbourg)
Taylor
Thacker
Towers
Tremblay
(Québec-Est)
Tremblay
(Lotbinière)

Valcourt
Van De Walle
Vankoughnet
Vézina
Vincent
Warner
Weiner
White

Wilson (Swift Current —Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Winegard Wise—137

## NAYS

#### Members

Allmand Garneau Althouse Angus Axworthy (Saint-Jacques) Baker Неар Hopkins Benjamin Berger Hovdebo Johnston (Brant) (Saint-Henri-Broadbent Westmount) Copps de Corneille Kaplan Keeper Killens Epp (Thunder Bay-MacLellan Nipigon) Manly Foster Marchi Frith McCurdy Murphy

Nicholson (Trinity) Nunziata Nystrom Orlikow Ouellet Penner Prud'homme Riis Robichaud Robinson Tobin Young—42

• (1140)

### [English]

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried. Bill read the third time and passed.

## **CAPITAL PUNISHMENT**

### ESTABLISHMENT OF SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON REINSTATEMENT

The House resumed from Friday, June 5, consideration of the motion of Mr. Mazankowski:

That this House supports, in principle, the reinstatement of capital punishment and directs that a special committee on reinstatement, composed of 15 members, be established, hold hearings and make its final report to the House no later than three (3) months following the adoption of this motion, such report to provide recommendations on:

- (a) which offence or offences should carry the death penalty, and in what circumstances:
- (b) which method or methods should be used to carry out the penalty of death, and in what circumstances;

That, pursuant to Standing Order 107(1), this special committee be hereby appointed as a committee to prepare and bring in a bill no later than three months following the adoption of this motion, founded on the committee's recommendations on (a) and (b) above; such a bill shall be the object of a separate and distinct report of the special committee, and such a report shall be its final report;

That such bill, when reported from such special committee to the House, be deemed pursuant to Standing Order 107(1) to have been introduced and stand on the Order Paper, in the name of the special committee chairman, for first reading at the next sitting of the House; and that subsequent House stages of the bill be considered under "Government Orders", with the bill standing under the heading "Government Business"; and that, when the said bill has been read a second time, it shall stand referred to a Legislative Committee;