Natural Resources-Development

Studer Rochefort Thatcher Thibault. St. Laurent (Quebec East) Valois St. Laurent (Temis-Villeneuve couata) Vincent Schneider Weaver Shipley, Mrs. Weir Stick

White (Waterloo South) Stuart (Charlotte) Winters-121.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment to the amendment to the main motion lost.

Mr. Winch: I was paired, Mr. Speaker, with the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration (Mr. Pickersgill). Had I been able to vote would have voted in favour of the subamendment.

Mr. Speaker: The question now is on the amendment to the main motion. Those who are in favour to the amendment to the main motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: Those who are opposed to the amendment to the main motion will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nav.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members. I understand that the whips are indicating that, for the purpose of this division, their members have been called in.

The house divided on the amendment (Mr. Diefenbaker) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Aitken, Miss Harkness Argue Herridge Balcer Hodgson Barnett Holowach Howe (Wellington-Bell Blackmore Huron) Johnson (Kindersley) Johnston (Bow River) Blair Bryce Knight Bryson Cameron (Nanaimo) Knowles Campbell Leboe Macdonnell Cardiff Castleden MacLean Charlton McBain Churchill McCullough (Moose Mountain) Coldwell Diefenbaker McGregor Dinsdale McLeod Dufresne Michener Ellis Mitchell (London) Fairclough Mrs. Monteith Ferguson Montgomery Fleming Murphy (Lambton West) Nicholson Fulton Gillis Nowlan Green Pallett

Patterson

Pearkes

Quelch Robinson (Bruce) Shaw Smith (Battle River-Camrose) Stanton Starr

Thomas

Tustin White (Hastings-Frontenac) White (Middlesex East) Wylie Yuill

Zaplitny-67.

Lavigne

NAYS

Messrs:

Anderson Applewhaite Ashbourne Balcom Batten Benidickson Bennett Blanchette Boisvert Bonnier Bourget Bourque Breton Brisson Brown (Brantford) Brown (Essex West) Bruneau Buchanan Byrne Cameron (High Park) Campney Cardin Caron Carter

Mang Marler Masse Matheson Menard Meunier Michaud Cauchon Cavers Monette Clark

Crestohl Dechene Decore Denis Deschatelets

Deslieres Dickey Dumas Prudham Enfield Purdy

Eudes Ratelle Reinke Eyre Fairey Follwell Gagnon

Garland Gauthier (Lake St. John) Robinson (Simcoe East)

Gauthier (Nickel Belt) Gauthier (Portneuf) Gour (Russell)

Gregg Harris Harrison Henderson Henry

James

Gardiner

Houck Howe (Port Arthur) Huffman Hunter

Jutras Kirk (Shelburne-Yarmouth-Clare) Lafontaine Langlois (Berthier-

Maskinonge-Delanaudiere) Lapointe

Leduc (Gatineau) Leduc (Jacques Cartier-Lasalle) Leduc (Verdun) Lefrancois Lesage Lusby MacEachen MacKenzie MacNaught Macnaughton

McCann McIlraith McIvor McMillan McWilliam

Mitchell (Sudbury)

Murphy (Westmorland) Philpott Pinard Poulin

Power (Quebec South) Power (St. John's West) Proudfoot

Richard (Ottawa East) Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche)

Roberge Robertson

Rochefort

St. Laurent (Quebec East) St. Laurent (Temis-

couata) Schneider Shipley, Mrs. Stick Stuart (Charlotte)

Studer Thatcher Thibault Valois Villeneuve Vincent

Weaver Weir White (Waterloo South) Winters-121.

Mr. Winch: Mr. Speaker, I was paired with

the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

[Mr. Speaker.]

Hahn

Hansell