(PhD, Queen's) was policy development writer, rapporteur and made extraordinary efforts in organizing the first annual Graduate Student Seminar and the first annual Academic Roundtable.

Finally, thanks to all the citizens who make great commitments of time, and always good will and energy to all the projects and events across Canada. Professor Janice Stein and the members of the Minister's Advisory Board provide input on areas for policy development attention. Gwynne Dyer led a group of "war and peace" experts including John Mueller, Rob Walker, Senator Lois Wilson and Bishop Remi DeRoo who generated thinking about human security. Other journalists, including Ann Medina, Jocelyn Coulon, Patrick Martin, Satva Das and Patrick Brown helped push critical thinking on other issues. Wendy Cukier, Tariq Rauf, Chris Smith and others, including NGOs and the police have helped on small arms policy. Arctic experts like Gérard Duhaime, Cliff Hickey, Peter Johnson and citizens in the north and south including, Sally Ross, Audrey McLaughlin and Rory Ellsworth helped shape a northern dimension to Canada's northern foreign policy. Stéphane Roussel, Marcia Kran, Gordon Fairweather, Geoffrey Pearson and others provoked up to date thinking about the UN Security Council. Shirley Bear, Gerald Alfred and Leroy Littlebear and their roundtable opened new thinking about Indigenous Peoples and Canada's culture abroad. Thanks to Lorna Marsden, John Graham, Gwyneth Evans and others who helped with Canadian Studies. John English is always a valued cochair.

At the end of the financial year in March 1999, 75 Canadians gathered in Calgary to begin a cross-country discussion about Canada's interests the Hemisphere (including human rights, democracy, drugs and crime, education, health and Indigenous Peoples). Thanks to Stephen Randall, Maureen Wilson (FOCAL), Ann McGrath (OXFAM) and all the Calgary team for a very good beginning.

Finally, a very big "thank you" to all participants in all projects, roundtables and National Forum meetings and an invitation to you and others to remain and become further involved in the development of Canada's foreign policy in these exciting times.

Steve Lee National Director

