Universities form super league

MONTREAL (CUP)—Chances are "favourable" the structure of Canadian university hockey will be dramatically revamped to create a 12-team "super league".

All that remains for the change to take effect next year is for the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union to approve this proposal at its annual meeting this year in June.

The proposal was drawn up Mar. 17 during closed door talks involving Sports Canada, Hockey Canada and university hockey coaches.

Sources in attendance told the Georgian, a student newspaper of Concordia university, there was strong pressure from the Ministry of Fitness and Amateur Sport on the two government representatives to push for the formation of such a league.

It is believed the Ministry—directly as a result of past defeats of Canadian professional hockey teams by the Soviet Union—hopes to attract Canada's best junior talent to the universities, where new and more scientific approaches to the game can be explored.

Concordia Stinger hockey coach Paul Arsenault said yesterday Canadian coaches are "95 per cent" in favour of the league, primarily to avoid a

continued from page 19

Pat MacNeil-Basketball

Paul Davies-Broomball

Denise Burton-Broomball

Taghi Mirahmadi - Volleyball

Sergio Greguildo-Basketbal

Alton Glen-Hockey

Rick Coughlan-Hockey

Steven Acker - Football

Jerry Parsons-Softball

Phi Del-Mens

Womens

PINE HILL:

Co-Ed

Mens

situation like this year that saw strong teams frequently pitted against weak teams.

The proposal calls for two levels of competition. The Tier One "super league" would be comprised of two teams from the Maritimes, three from Quebec, four from Ontario and three from the Western provinces.

Tier Two would be a regional division where the weaker teams would play against each other.

At the start of each year, the six bottom teams from Tier One of the previous year and the six top from Tier Two would playoff against one another. The top six teams after this tournament would then play in Tier One that year.

Each member university of the CIAU will be represented at the June meeting by its athletic director.

Two wrinkles will have to be ironed out for the league to get off the ground. It remains to be seen who will sponsor the league and the question of athletic scholarships will require re-examination.

The Canadian government has in the past opposed the idea of athletic scholarships, but Iona Campagnolo, minister of fitness and amateur sport, has recently come out in support of them.

Chris Reno-Basketball

P.E.
Mens
Rick Tully—Basketball
Womens
Mary Lou Harnish—Volleyball
Sarah Lindsay—Basketball
Patti Buzzell—Floor Hockey
Co-Ed
Don Gamblin—Volleyball
Mary George—Basketball

T.Y.P. Mens Paul Dorington—Basketball
Gilbert Daye—Football
Joe Walcott—Hockey
Myla Dorinton
Womens
Charla Williams—Basketball
Audrey Clements—Volleyball
Co-Ed
Jackie Fayn—Basketball

MEDICINE:
Nancy Morrison
Kathy Bell-Irving
Marie O'Hanley
Jane Henderson
Jim McAuley
Robin Wilson
Gordon Plummer
Derek Nesdoly
Ron Fontaine
Dave Coleman

M.B.A.
John Kendall—Hockey
Carolyn Cox—Volleyball
George Selsija—Basketball
Stuart Gray—Basketball
Bob Ferguson—Broomball

DENTISTRY:
Mens
Roy Stanley
Brad Goodine
Jim Fay
Graham Usher
Bill Shaw
Womens
Ruth O'Shea
Anne Young
Val Biskupski
Co-Ed
Ruth O'Shea
Roy Stanley

EDUCATION:
Mens
Brian Woodbury—Basketball
Bruce Murphy—Hockey
Mike Kilpatrick—Softball
Greg Wilson—Flag Football
Steve Andrews—Broomball
Co-Ed
Sue White—Softball

PSYCHOLOGY:
Co-Ed
Alan Dobbins
Jane Raymond
Evelyn Sulton—Basketball
Joel Katz—Basketball
Jill Gardner—Volleyball

SHERRIFF HALL: Women's Basketball Cathy Hamilton Co-Ed Volleyball Lynn Lamont Debbie Hamilton

MENSINTER-FAC SPORT AWARDS

FLAG FOOTBALL:
Division A—Law
Brian Johnston
—Team Captain
Division B—Medicine

Gordon Plummer
—Team Captain
Division C—Cameron House
Bruce Clark—Team Captain

SOCCER:
Division B—Pharmacy
Orlands Hung—Team Captain
Division C—Smith House
Andrew Parsons

—Team Captain

MENS VOLLEYBALL:
Division A—Law
Ken Johnson—Team Captain
Division B—Cameron
Michael Soppa
—Team Captain

MENS BASKETBALL:
Division A—T.Y.P.
Enus Crawford
—Team Captain
Division B—Commerce

Division B—Commerce
Peter Fougere—Team Captain
Division C—M.B.A.
George Seslija
—Team Captain

—Team Captain

Division D—Fenwick

Leo Pereira—Team Captain

MENS BOWLING:
Division I—Pharmacy
Brain O'Rourke
—Team Captain
Division II—Engineers
Don Matthews

MENSICE HOCKEY:
Division A — Medicine
Angus Beck — Team Captain
Division B — Pharmacy

-Team Captain

Bill Booth—Team Captain
Division C—Bronson House
Keith MacPherson

MENS SOFTBALL: Medicine Michael McLaughlin Appreciation of Support Staff
Heather Shute, Evy Stadey,
Gail Gordon, Con Brigley, Dick
Evans, Fred Malcom, Health
Services—Doctors and
Trainers; members of Faculty
of Physical Education and
other faculties.

OFFICIALS AWARDS:

Special Official Awards were presented to: Randy Armstrong Pat Scully Marie Richard Roy Stanley

SUPREMACY AWARDS:

The culmination of this year's banquet was the awarding of the Supremacy Awards which is determined on an accumulated points based on participation and achievement throughout the year.

For the first time a Supremacy Award was presented for Women's Supremacy with the winner being the Faculty of Dentistry.

Co-Ed Surpemacy was once again captured by the Faculty of Dentistry.

In a very close race for Men's Supremacy the Faculty of Medicine have for the fourth straight year captured the Supremacy Trophy.

Last issue



See you in September

Loto Canada









The National Lunacy