Party Whips

The Party Whips are selected by the party and are responsible for party discipline:

Government Marlene Catterall (Liberal)
Official Opposition John Reynolds (CA)

BLQ Stephane Bergerson

NDP Yvon Godin PC Rick Borotsik

Membership of the Standing Committees

The membership of standing committees is determined by the **Standing Committee of Procedure and House Affairs** which is appointed on the first day of Parliament. Among the members of the Standing Committee of Procedure and House Affairs are the whips of all official parties. The committee must table a report detailing the membership of all standing and joint standing committees within 10 sitting days, which in turn must be adopted by the House. Committees must then convene for an Organization Meeting not more than ten sitting days following the adoption of the report, during which time a chairperson and two vice-chairs are elected. Committee membership must be an accurate reflection of party standings in the House of Commons.

Parliamentary Secretaries

Parliamentary Secretaries are Members of Parliament who are appointed to assist Ministers in prioritizing work, assisting the Minister to make policy announcements, meeting public delegations, shepherding legislation through committees, as well as representing and speaking for the Minister in the House of Commons when the Minister is absent. Parliamentary Secretaries are usually assigned to the Standing Committee having a mandate in their area of responsibility.

Parliamentary Secretaries		
Parliamentary Secretary	Ministry	Minister
Mr. Mark Joseph Assad	Citizenship and Immigration	The Hon. Elinor Caplan
Mr. Eugene Bellemare	International Cooperation	The Hon. Maria Mina
Mr. Joe Jordon	Parliamentary Secretary to	The Right Hon.
	the Prime Minister	Jean Chretien
Mr. Derek Vincent Lee	Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Government in the House	The Hon. Don Boudria
Mr. Pat O'Brien	International Trade	The Hon. Pierre S Pettigrew
Mr. John Francis O'Reilly	National Defense	The Hon. Art Eggleton
Mr. Denis Paradis	Foreign Affairs	The Hon. John Manley
Mr. Denis Paradis	Foreign Affairs	The Hon. John Man