the areas designated in the *Canadian Wheat Board Act* are also included. As well, payments may be made for commodities "designated" from time to time by the Governor in Council.

Each year, the Agricultural Stabilization Board establishes a base price for each commodity. The prescribed price for "named" commodities in a given year is a minimum of 90% of the average price of the immediately preceding five years, or another percentage prescribed by the Governor in Council, adjusted for changes in cash production costs. Although there is no minimum price for "designated" commodities, the principle for calculating the prescribed price is similar, with the percentage determined by the Governor in Council; "designated" commodities are generally supported at the 90% level.

Support for "named" or "designated" commodities may also be given through bipartite or tripartite stabilization plans, where support levels are based on prices or costs. All provinces except Newfoundland are currently included in cost-shared National Tripartite Stabilization Programs (NTSP). Agreements covering apples have been signed in British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, while beans are covered in Alberta and Ontario; agreements for sugar beets have been signed in Alberta and Manitoba. Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia have signed agreements for lambs, while Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario have reached agreements for hogs. Finally, agreements for beef, including cow-calf, slaughter cattle and feeder cattle, have been signed in Alberta, Ontario and Prince Edward Island; Saskatchewan has announced its intention to enter into beef arrangements. Negotiations for the establishment of other tripartite stabilization plans are ongoing.

## 2. The Western Grain Stabilization Act

Under the Western Grain Stabilization Act, proclaimed in 1976, eligible grain producers in Western Canada are protected against extreme fluctuations in returns from year to year. The program eases the impact of disruptive price, market and cost factors and helps stabilize cash income from grain sales by providing a minimum assured cash flow level. The Act covers producers of the seven main grains — wheat, oats, barley, rye, flax, canola and mustard seed — grown in the Canadian Wheat Board areas of Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and British Columbia. The program does not cover grain fed to a producer's own livestock or poultry, or non-pedigreed seed grain sold to other producers; generally, farm-to-farm grain sales are also excluded from coverage. A proposed amendment to the Act would expand coverage to all crops grown under the Canada Grains Act, as well as