## SACRED GEOGRAPHY.

The kingdom of Israel comprised the ten other tribes. The kingdom of Samaria had for its capital Samaria, and that of Judah, Jerusalem.

Divisions at the time of Jesus-Christ.—At this great epoch, the Jewish countries were divided into four great provinces; Galilee, to the north; Samaria in the middle; Judea proper, in the south; Perea, on the other side of the Jordan.

Galilee.—Galilee was divided into Upper and Lower. The former was also called Galilee of the Gentiles; it contained the territory of the tribes of Asher and Naphtali, the latter contained the tribes of Zebulon and Issachar.

Cities.—The principal cities were Akka or Ptolemais (St. John of Acre), Tiberias, Nazareth, Jezreel, Caphernaum, Bethsaida, Nain, Cana and Sunam.

Samaria.—Samaria contained the half-tribe of Manasseh and the tribe of Ephraim.

Cities.—The cities were Shechem, Samaria and Caesarea.

Judea proper.—Judea-proper embraced the tribe of Judah, Benjamin, Simeon, and Dan.

Cities.—Jerusalem, the capital ; Jericho, Bethlehem, Hebron, and Joppa, or Jaffa.

**Perea.**—Perea contained the tribes of Reuben, Gad and the half-tribe of Manasseh. Perea proper was on the south, and Batanea on the north.

Cities.—Machaerus and Ramoth-Gilead, in Perea proper; Gadara, the capital of Perea, in Batanea. It is in Batanea that the greater number of the towns of the Decapolis were situated : it was a district containing ten cities, whose inhabitants were strangers to the Jews.

key pire

œnirea ; iter-

runs es in Geand t, or

uth: Car-

s. was last on of anites

vanen the

ibe of bes of of Maere be-

-After arated Israel; ah and