Lennard

Low

## Telegraphs Act

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Marler) which was agreed to on the following division:

### YEAS

### Messrs:

Anderson Lapointe Applewhaite Lavigne Leduc (Gatineau) Argue Leduc (Jacques Cartier-Balcom Barnett Lasalle) Batten Leduc (Verdun) Benidickson Lefrancois Legare Bennett Bertrand Lesage Blanchette Lusby Boisvert MacKenzie Boivin MacNaught Bonnier Macnaughton Bourget McCann Bourque McCubbin Breton McIlraith Brisson McIvor Brown (Essex West) McMillan Bryce McWilliam Bryson Marler Buchanan Menard Cameron (Nanaimo) Michaud Campbell Mitchell (Sudbury) Caron Monette Carter Murphy (Westmorland) Cavers Nicholson Cloutier Nixon Decore Pearson Denis Philpott Deschatelets Pickersgill Deslieres Pinard Dickey Pommer Dumas Power (Quebec South) Power (St. John's West) Ellis Fairey Proudfoot Follwell Prudham Gardiner Purdy Ratelle Gauthier (Portneuf) Reinke Gillis Richard (Ottawa East) Goode Richard (St. Maurice-Gour (Russell) Lafleche) Gourd (Chapleau) Richardson Gregg Roberge Habel Robichaud Hanna Robinson (Simcoe East) Harris St. Laurent (Quebec Harrison East) Hellver St. Laurent (Temis-Henderson couata) Henry Schneider Herridge Sinclair Hollingworth Stewart (Winnipeg Hosking North)

# NAYS

Stuart (Charlotte)

Studer

Thibault

Villeneuve

Tucker

Weaver

Viau

Weir

Winch

Winters

Zaplitny-123.

## Messrs:

Casselman Blackmore Charlton Cardiff Churchill [Mr. Marler.]

Houck

Hunter

Knight

Lafontaine

Johnson (Kindersley)

Kirk (Antigonish-

Guysborough)

Yarmouth-Clare)

Kirk (Shelburne-

Langlois (Gaspe)

James

Diefenbaker Dinsdale Fairclough, Mrs. Ferguson Fleming Fraser (Peterborough) Fulton Girard Green Hahn Harkness Hodgson Small Holowach Howe (Wellington-Huron) Leboe

MacLean McGregor Monteith Montgomery Murphy (Lambton West) Nowlan Pallett Patterson Pearkes Poulin Smith (Battle River-Camrose) Stanton Thomas Tustin Yuill-40.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried. Bill read the third time and passed.

### ST. LAWRENCE SEAWAY AUTHORITY ACT

AMENDMENT PROVIDING AUTHORITY TO CONSTRUCT AND OPERATE BRIDGE

Hon. George C. Marler (Minister of Transport) moved that the house go into committee to consider the following resolution:

That it is expedient to amend the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority Act by repealing subsection (1) of section 14A thereof as enacted at the present session of parliament and substituting the following subsection therefor:

"14A. (1) The authority may, alone or jointly or in conjunction with the St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation of the United States, con-

struct, maintain and operate, either
(a) a bridge over Pollys Gut in the St. Lawrence river for the passage of pedestrians, vehicles, railway trains and for other like purposes, with all necessary approaches and facilities, from Cornwall island in the county of Stormont in the province of Ontario to Massena point in the state of New York, or

(b) a bridge over the south channel in the St. Lawrence river for the passage of pedestrians, vehicles and for other like purposes, with all necessary approaches and facilities, from Cornwall island in the county of Stormont in the province of Ontario to the United States mainland in the state of New York."

Motion agreed to and the house went into committee, Mr. Robinson (Simcoe East) in the chair.

Mr. Nesbitt: Will the minister be good enough to give us a statement as to the purpose of this resolution?

Mr. Marler: Mr. Chairman, hon. members of the committee will probably recall that earlier this session we adopted chapter 11 of the statutes of the present session for the purpose, among other things, of authorizing the St. Lawrence seaway authority, either alone or jointly or in conjunction with the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation of the United States, to construct, maintain and operate a bridge over Pollys Gut. Since then there have been discussions