124

Appendix, No. 2.

Anno Decimo Octavo Victoriæ Reginæ.

Cap. III.

An ACT to increase the present Number of Representatives in the General Assembly of this Island, and to regulate the Representation thereof.—Passed 30 November 1854.

Preamble.

Whereas by proclamation bearing date the 26th day of July, in the third year of the reign of his late Majesty King William the Fourth, this island was divided into nine districts, for the purpose of the election of the members of the Assembly thereof, by which proclamation the said districts were authorised to return 15 persons to represent them as members of the said Assembly, in the manner mentioned and provided in and by the said proclamation: And whereas, for the good government of this island, it is expedient and necessary that there should be an increase of representatives therein:—

House of Assembly to consist of 30 Members.

Division of Districts.

I. Be it therefore enacted, by the Governor, Council and Assembly, in Legislative Session convened, that from and after the passing of this Act, the House of Assembly shall consist of 30 Members, of whom 10 shall be a quorum; and that for the purpose of the election of the Members of the said Assembly, this island shall be divided as follows: -That is to say, the district of Twillingate and Fogo, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present electoral district of Twillingate and Fogo, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly by two Members. The district of Bonavista, which shall be comprised within the limit of the present electoral district of Bonavista, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly by three Members. The district of Trinity, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present electoral district of Trinity, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly by three Members. The district of Conception Bay, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present electoral district of Conception Bay, and shall be represented in the General Assembly by seven Members; of whom two shall be chosen by the electors residing in that part of the said district to be called the southern division thereof, lying between the district of Saint John's and Turk's Gut inclusive; one by the electors residing in that part of the said district to be called the Port de Grave division thereof, lying between Turk's Gut exclusive, and Port de Grave inclusive; two by the electors residing in that part of the said district, to be called the Harbour Grace division thereof, lying between Port de Grave exclusive and Harbour Grace inclusive, including Harbour Grace island; one by the electors residing in that part of the said district, to be called the Carbonear division thereof, lying between Harbour Grace exclusive and Fresh Water exclusive; one by the electors residing in that part of the said district, to be called the Bay de Verds division thereof, lying between Fresh Water and Bay de Verds both The district of Saint John's, which shall comprise the present electoral district of Saint John's, and shall extend southward and westwardly to a straight line drawn from Petty Harbour inclusive to the Northern Goulds Bridge on the Bay Bulls road, and thence to Broad Cove inclusive, shall be represented in the said General Assembly by six Members, of whom three shall be chosen by the electors of the said district residing southward of Saint John's Harbour, and westward of a line drawn from said harbour through the centre of Beck's Cove, thence across Duckworth-street round the west side of Playhouse Hill, along the centre of Carter's-lane; up Carter's Hill, thence along Cook's Town road, thence along Fresh Water road to the west end thereof, and thence in a direct line to Broad Cove settlement inclusive, which shall be called the division of Saint John's west; and three by the electors of the said district residing eastward and northward of the above-named cove, line, lane, and roads, including Belle Isle, which shall be called the division of Saint John's, east. The district of Ferryland, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present electoral district of Ferryland, and extending to the said south-western boundary of the said district of Saint John's, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly by two Members. The district of Placentia and Saint Mary's, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present electoral district of Placentia and Saint Mary's, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly by three Members. The district of Burin, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present electoral district of Burin, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly by two Members. The district of Fortune Bay, which shall be comprised within the limits of the present electoral district of Fortune Bay, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly by one Member; and also all that part of the south coast of the island, lying between Bonne Bay and Cape Ray, with the islands adjacent thereto, shall form an electoral district, to be called the district of Burgeo and La Poile, and shall be represented in the said General Assembly. by one Member.

And whereas in pursuance of the provisions of an Act passed in the 10th and 11th years of the reign of Her present Majesty, intituled "An Act to render permanent certain parts of the Act for amending the Constitution of the Government of Newfoundland," Her Majesty, by Royal Instructions, bearing date the 19th day of July 1848, did, among other things, declare that the qualification of persons thereafter to be elected to serve as Members of the Assembly of this island, should be fixed at a net annual income, arising from any source whatever, of 100 t. or the possession of property, clear of all incumbrances, exceeding 500 t.

Preamble.