Asia and the Pacific

Within the Department, the Bureau of Asian and Pacific Affairs is entrusted with the co-ordination and management of Canada's relations with Asian and Pacific states. Following the reorganization of the Department early in 1971, this Bureau took over responsibility for Commonwealth countries in the region. The new Bureau has now three divisions, responsible for East Asia, the Pacific and South Asia. In addition, a separate entity, the India-Pakistan Interdepartmental Task Force, was created within the South Asia Division to deal with the crisis in East Pakistan and the refugee problem in India.

The East Asia Division is responsible for relations with China, Hong Kong, Laos, Cambodia, Viet-Nam, Burma and Thailand. In that area, Canada maintains embassies in Peking and Bangkok, non-resident accreditation to Burma from Kuala Lumpur, and a Commission in Hong Kong; the Canadian Delegation to the International Commissioner for Supervision and Control in Viet-Nam, resident in Saigon, maintains liaison offices in Vientiane (to the Laos International Control Commission) and in Hanoi. The major event during the year for this Division was the exchange of ambassadors with the People's Republic of China and the subsequent development of bilateral relations.

The area of responsibility of the *Pacific Division* includes Japan, Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Oceania (Fiji, Tonga and Western Samoa), Antarctica, Malaysia, Singapore, the Philippines and Indonesia. Canada maintains embassies in Tokyo and Djakarta, high commissions in Canberra, Wellington, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore, a consulate general in Manila, and non-resident accreditation to the Republic of Korea from Tokyo, to Fiji from Canberra and to Tonga and Western Samoa from Wellington. During 1971 there were significant developments in bilateral relations with most of these countries along lines envisaged in *Foreign Policy for Canadians*. There was a particularly notable increase in contacts between Canada and its Pacific neighbours -- involving ministers and senior officials, headed by Prime Minister Trudeau -- and also increased private travel by Canadians.

The South Asia Division is concerned with Canada's relations with India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Ceylon, Nepal, Sikkim, Bhutan and the Maldive Islands. Canada maintains high commissions in New Delhi, Islamabad and Colombo, and non-resident accreditation to Afghanistan from Islamabad and to Nepal from New Delhi. The Division's main concern throughout the year resulted from the outbreak of civil strife in East Pakistan late in March and the consequent flow of East Pakistanis into India, the uprooting of millions more within East Pakistan and, finally, war between India and Pakistan.

East Asia Division

China

The Secretary of State for External Affairs noted on October 13, 1970, that the establishment of diplomatic relations between Canada and China