1898. Under the Yukon Act of Parliament, provision is made for a local government composed of a chief executive officer styled a Commissioner and an elective Legislative Council of 12 members with a four-year tenure of office.

The constitutional practices noted with respect to the Northwest Territories have also taken root in the Yukon, so that an increasing responsibility for Yukon affairs has been transferred to the territory and its Council. The legislative authority conferred on the Council is essentially the same as that conferred on the NWT Council. The seat of territorial government is Whitehorse.

3. Municipal government

In addition to the federal, provincial and territorial governments, there are also various units of local government. These may take a number of forms, such as cities, towns, villages, counties and townships. Recently there have been established in some of the provinces regional governments with certain responsibilities over all the municipalities within their jurisdiction as well as region-wide responsibilities for such services as police.

The powers enjoyed by the various units of municipal government are derived from, and are limited to, the powers that may be exercised by a province, and are generally to be found in municipal acts or other general statutes applicable throughout a province or territory. In some cases, municipal powers are found in special charters or statutes creating a particular city, town or other unit of government. The qualifications of electors, as well as the qualifications for holding office, are similarly regulated either by special or general legislation of a province or territory.

4. The Judiciary

The Federal Judiciary

The Parliament of Canada is empowered by Section 101 of the British North America Act, 1867, to provide, from time to time, for the constitution, maintenance and organization of a general court of appeal for Canada and for the establishment of any additional courts for the better administration of the laws of Canada. Under this provision, Parliament has established the Supreme Court of Canada, the Federal Court of Canada and certain miscellaneous courts.

Supreme Court of Canada

This Court, first established in 1875 and now governed by the Supreme