PROTOCOL ON THE JOINT CONSULTATIVE GROUP

The States Parties hereby agree upon procedures and other provisions relating to the Joint Consultative Group established by Article XVI of the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe of November 19, 1990, hereinafter referred to as the Treaty.

- 1. The Joint Consultative Group shall be composed of representatives designated by each State Party. Alternates, advisers and experts of a State Party may take part in the proceedings of the Joint Consultative Group as deemed necessary by that State Party.
- 2. The first session of the Joint Consultative Group shall open no later than 60 days after the signing of the Treaty. The Chairman of the opening meeting shall be the representative of the Kingdom of Norway.
 - 3. The Joint Consultative Group shall meet for regular sessions to be held two times per year.
- 4. Additional sessions shall be convened at the request of one or more States Parties by the Chairman of the Joint Consultative Group, who shall promptly inform all other States Parties of the request. Such sessions shall open no later than 15 days after receipt of such a request by the Chairman.
- 5. Sessions of the Joint Consultative Group shall last no longer than four weeks, unless it decides otherwise.
- 6. States Parties shall assume in rotation, determined by alphabetical order in the French language, the Chairmanship of the Joint Consultative Group.
 - 7. The Joint Consultative Group shall meet in Vienna, unless it decides otherwise.
- 8. Representatives at meetings shall be seated in alphabetical order of the States Parties in the French language.
- 9. The official languages of the Joint Consultative Group shall be English, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish.
- 10. The proceedings of the Joint Consultative Group shall be confidential, unless it decides otherwise.
- 11. The scale of distribution for the common expenses associated with the operation of the Joint Consultative Group shall be applied, unless otherwise decided by the Joint Consultative Group, as follows:
 - 10.35% for the French Republic, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Italian Republic, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America;
 - 6.50% for Canada:
 - 5.20% for the Kingdom of Spain;
 - 4.00% for the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Republic of Poland;