conditions only. As in the Trusteeship Council, however, membership on the Committee on Information from Non-Self-Governing Territories is balanced between administering and non-administering powers. Finally, for the mandated territory of South West Africa, the General Assembly has established the Committee on South West Africa. The Government of the Union of South Africa does not participate in the work of this Committee, however, because of the Union's long-standing dispute with the United Nations over the relationship of the territory to the United Nations.

## **Trust Territories**

## Sessions of the Trusteeship Council

In 1960 three former trust territories attained full independence and sovereignty. On January 1 the Cameroons under French administration became the Republic of the Cameroun. On April 27 Togoland under French administration became the Republic of Togo and on July 1 Somaliland under Italian administration joined with the British Protectorate of Somaliland to become the Republic of Somalia.

During the period under review the Trusteeship Council held two regular sessions, the 25th session from January 25 to February 9, 1960 and the 26th session from April 14 to June 30, 1960. It also held a special session, its tenth, in December 1959 to consider the report of the United Nations Commissioner on the results of the plebiscite held in the Northern Cameroons under British administration.

The Standing Committee on Petitions, the Committee on Rural Economic Development, the Standing Committee on Administration Unions and the Committee on Classification of Communications also met during the period covered by the report of the Trusteeship Council.<sup>1</sup>

The Council had before it the annual reports of the administering authorities on the following trust territories: Tanganyika under United Kingdom administration, Ruanda-Urundi under Belgian administration, Somaliland under Italian administration, Cameroons under United Kingdom administration, New Guinea under Australian administration, Nauru under Australian, New Zealand and United Kingdom administration, Western Samoa under New Zealand administration and the trust territory of the Pacific Islands under United States administration. During its consideration of these reports, the Council was assisted by special representatives of the administering authorities from each of these territories. In conjunction with the examination of the relevant annual reports, the Council also examined the reports of its visiting missions to the trust territory of the Pacific Islands and to the trust territories in East Africa.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Doc. A/4404