Assembly, viz: Glengary, 2; Stormont 1; Dundas, 1; Grenville, 1; Leeds and Frontenac, 1; Ontario and Addington, 1; Prince Edward, 1; Lennox, Hastings and Northumberland, 1; and York, 1; Lincoln, 1; Norfolk, 1; Suffelk and Essex, 1; Kent, 2—making in the whole, nineteen Counties, and fifteen representatives. At this time there was no County of Oxford, the Township of Oxford having been surveyed only in 1793; but the territory in it was, as we have before stated, probably part of the County of Norfolk, which a few years later composed with the Counties of Oxford and Middlesex, the district of London.

There is no official list to be found of the members elected for the different Counties above enumerated during the first and second Parliaments, 1792 and '96. The following names are given as those of members elected in 1792, and, we believe, are correct:

> Angus B. Macdonell, John McDonnell, Alexander Macdonnell, Robert J. D. Gray, Samuel Sherwood, William Buell, Jacob Weager, John Furguson, Ebenezer Washburn,

ok

d,

ad.

CE

of

198

les

pe

ect

, it

nd

he

he

ice

ny

In

sed s of

ht-

nd

its

eat

by

ive

of

the

, in

nor

ies,

the

e of

the

DAVID M. ROGERS, ANGUS MACDONNELL, D. W. SMITH, RICHARD BRASLEY, ROBERT NELLIS, RALPH CLENCE, ISAAC SWEEZEY, THOMAS MCKER, MATTHEW FLLIOTT.

JOHN THOMPSON.

The Hon. D. W. Smith, having been elected to represent the Counties of Norfolk, Oxford, and Middlesex, in 1800, may be supposed to have represented the County of Norfolk in the first two Parliaments.

In 1798 an act was passed for the better division of this Province (38 Geo. III., chap. 5), from which we extract the following:

"The Townships of Burford, Norwich, Dereham, Oxford on the Thames, Blanford and Blenheim do constitute and form the County of Oxford."

Another act of the same Legislature passed on the 4th July, 1800, "for the more equal representation of the Commons of this Province in Parliament," states that:

"The Counties of Oxford, Middlesex, and Norfolk shall,

together, be represented by one number."

Under this act, those three Counties were represented from 1800 to 1804—i. e., in the third Parliament, by the Hon. D. W. Smith, and in the fourth Parliament, 1804 to 1808, by Benajah Malory.

During the fifth, sixth and seventh Parliaments—i. e., from 1808 to 1820—the Counties of Oxford and Middlesex are found to be represented by one member: the members elected being, in 1808, Benajah Malory; in 1812, Mahlon Burwell; in 1816, Mahlon Burwell. From 1820 to the union—i. e., during the eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth and thirteenth Parliaments—there was one representative for Oxford alone, the members