Charles Dickens was born at Landport, near Portsmouth, on February 7, 1812, and died at Gadshill, near Rochester,

Kent, on June 9, 1870.

His most important works are: "Sketches by Boz" (1836), "Pickwick Papers" (1837), "Oliver Twist" (1839), "Nicholas Nickleby" (1839), "Master Humphrey's Clock" (1840), "The Old Curiosity Shop" (1840), "Barnaby Rudge" (1841), "American Notes" (1842), "Martin Chuzzlewit" (1844), "Pictures from Italy" (1846), "Dombey and Son" (1848), "David Copperfield" (1850), "Christmas Books" (1852), "Bleak House" (1853), "A Child's History of England" (1854), "Hard Times" (1854), "Little Dorrit" (1857), "A Tale of Two Cities" (1859), "Great Expectations" (1861), "Our Mutual Friend" (1865), "The Uncommercial Traveller" (1869), "The Mystery of Edwin Drood" (1870), and "Christmas Stories" (1874). The dates given are those of first publication in book form.

All these are included in the Nelson Classics, with "American Notes" and "Master Humphrey's Clock" in one volume, and "Edwin Drood" and "Pictures from Italy" in one volume. The most popular volumes appear also in the Winchester Classics.

The Cricke
The Chime

A Christm

The Haunt

The Battle