Security Council adopted Resolution 955 and an accompanying statute establishing Rwandan Tribunal on 8 November 1994.

The Rwandan Tribunal was established for the purpose of "prosecuting persons responsible for genocide and other serious crimes of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and Rwandan citizens responsible for genocide and other such violations committed in the territory of neighbouring states" between 1 January and 31 December 1994". The resolution provides that all States "shall cooperate fully" with the Tribunal and urged States and organizations to contribute funds, equipment, services and expert personnel.

The Prosecutor for the Yugoslav Tribunal, Mr. Justice Goldstone, is also the Prosecutor for the Rwandan Tribunal. In addition, the Security Council elected Mr. Honoré Rakotomanana, former Chief Justice of Madagascar, as Deputy Prosecutor for Rwanda. The seat of the Tribunal is Arusha, Tanzania.

In May 1995, the Security Council elected 6 judges to form the Trial Chambers for the Tribunal. The Tribunal will share an appellate Chamber with the Yugoslav Tribunal.

The Deputy Prosecutor is now established in Kigali and has begun to commence the Tribunal operations there and the investigations have started. The Chief Investigator for the Rwandan Tribunal has speculated that there may be some indictments in the fall.

In May 1995, the Secretary of State for Latin America and Africa, the Honourable Christine Stewart, announced a Canadian contribution of \$1 million to the Tribunal. This money will be used to cover the costs of investigating and gathering evidence on crimes, as well as operations of the Tribunal. CIDA is currently considering a proposal to provide a team of DND investigators to work with the Tribunal as part of this project.