Dr. Franklin Johnson, junior, of New York, a gentleman who brings exceptional qualifications for the work. He is the son of Professor Franklin Johnson, one of the group gathered together with President Harper to organise and launch the University of Chicago. His grandfather was the founder of McMinville College and Denison University.—

Toronto Globe.

The following changes in principalships have occurred: T. I. Brown-lee, Dominion City, formerly at Russell; B. Hodkinson, Selkirk, principal Central School, formerly at Gimli; W. G. Jose, Kenton, formerly at Lenore; R. B. Masterton, Cartwright, formerly at Holmfield; Wm. Y. McLeish, Oxbow, Sask., formerly at Manitou; D. S. Tod, Russell, formerly in Saskatchewan, for several years at Holmfield; P. L. Sanford, at Swan River, gone to Saskatchewan; H. A. Snowdon, Treherne, formerly at Elva; Merodach Green, Carberry, formerly at Treherne.—Western School Journal.

Miss Harvey, formerly of Fergus, is now teaching primary work in Durham Public School.

The Ontario Department of Education has recently issued a manual revised regulations for High Schools and Collegiate Institutes.

Since the appointment of Dr. E. E. Braithwaite as President, and Dr. Louis Wood as lecturer in history and economics, Western University Governors have appointed Miss Hilda Bains of Calgary lecturer in French, assistant to Dr. N. C. James, professor of modern languages. Miss Baines has been teaching in Halifax Ladies' College, and more recently in St. Hilda's College, Calgary. She is a graduate of McGill and the University of Paris.—Toronto Globe.

Appointments were made by the Winnipeg Board of Education as follows, duties to begin on the opening of the schools for the autumn term: Mr. C. W. Laidlaw, B.A., to a principalship of an elementary school, former service with the Board to be reckoned in determining seniority and salary schedule; Mr. Otis O. Worden, to a principalship of an elementary school, beginning at schedule salary for fourth year; Mr. Andrew Merritt, to the principalship of an elementary school, at school school werritt, to the principalship of an elementary school school school with a school school with the school school with the school school school with the school school with the school school with the school school with the school school school with the school school with the school sc school staff, beginning at schedule salary of the third year; Mr. E. H. Willow and Mr. E. H. Schedule Willoughby, B.A., to a position on the high school staff, at schedule salary. salary; Miss Helen I. Macdougall, to the household science staff of the elementary schools, at schedule salary; Miss Florence Irwin, to the household hold science staff for one year, during the absence of Miss D. Mitchell, at school at at schedule salary. To the elementary staff: Miss Dora Davidson, Miss Mildred D. Miss Nellie Mildred Porter, Miss Elso McIntosh, Miss Della Riddell, Miss Nellie Smith Markay Miss Smith, Miss Irene Nelson, Miss M. Knox, Miss H. S. MacKay, Miss Annie M. C. Wielschank, Miss Annie M. Scott, Miss Edith A. Irvine, Miss Chrissie Cruickshank, Miss