Division

Members of the Liberal party who agree with me should have the courage to rise to their feet and to say to the government, "We will not accept this bill." Of course, I do not think I will see that. However, if they did that they would render a service to Parliament and to our democratic process.

Mr. Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Speaker: The question is on the amendment to the main motion. All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

• (1730)

Alexander

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Peters) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 25)

YEAS

Messrs:

Korchinski

Asselin Lambert Baldwin (Bellechasse) Barnett Latulippe Beaudoin Lewis MacInnis (Mrs.) Bell Benjamin McCleave McCutcheon Bigg Blackburn McGrath McKinley Burton McQuaid Coates Diefenbaker Mather Dinsdale Mazankowski Dionne Monteith Moore Douglas Downey Murta Fairweather Nesbitt Flemming Nielsen Fortin Gauthier Noble Gilbert Nystrom Orlikow Gleave Godin Paproski Grills Peters Hales Ritchie Harding Rock Harkness Rodrigue Rondeau Horner Howe Rose Knight Rynard Knowles (Winnipeg Schumacher North Centre) Scott Knowles (Norfolk-Simpson Haldimand) Skoberg [Mr. Lewis.]

Messrs:

Southam Valade Stanfield Winch

Thomas (Moncton) Woolliams—71.

NAYS Messrs:

Basford MacEachen
Béchard McBride
Benson McNulty
Blair Mahoney
Blouin Major
Borrie Marceau
Buchanan Marchand

Caccia (Kamloops-Cariboo)
Cafik Munro
Clermont Murphy

 Clermont
 Mu:

 Cobbe
 Noé

 Corriveau
 O'C

 Cullen
 Ols

 Cyr
 Ora

 Deachman
 Osl

 Deakon
 Ott

 Drury
 Pell

 Dubé
 Pen

 Duquet
 Pep

 Forest
 Pen

Forget Portelance
Foster Pringle
Francis Reid
Gendron Richard
Gervais Richardson
Gillespie Roberts

Guay (St. Boniface) Robin: Haidasz Roy (1

(Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Kaplan Laflamme

Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) La Salle

Howard

Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebvre

Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) L'Heureux

Loiselle MacDonald (Egmont) Macdonald (Rosedale)

• (1750)

Lind

Major
Marceau
Marchand
(Kamloops-Caribo
Munro
Murphy
Noël
O'Connell
Olson
Orange
Osler
Otto

Pelletier
Penner
Pepin
Perrault
Portelance
Pringle
Reid
Richard
Richardson
Roberts
Robinson
Roy (Laval)
Sharp
Smerchanski
Stewart (Cochrane)

Sullivan
Thomas
(MaisonneuveRosemont)
Tolmie
Trudeau
Trudel
Turner (London East)
Turner (Ottawa-Carlete

Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Walker Weatherhead Whicher Whiting Yanakis—85.

Mr. Speaker: The question is now on the main motion. All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nav.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

Some hon. Members: On division.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried on division.

Motion agreed to, bill read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections.