The agreement to give Quebec the benefit of the intervening period before the final move to Ottawa no doubt helped materially in securing support from that quarter. Thus ended a long and exciting episode in Canadian history, in which the prize was obtained by the city that had the fewest friends among the aspirants for the honour.

On the 1st August, 1860, His Majesty the King, then Prince of Wales, laid the corner stone of the present Parliament buildings. The departmental offices were removed from Quebec to Ottawa in the year 1865, and the first session was held at the capital in 1866.

On the union of Canada with Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, clause 16 was embodied in the British North America Act which provides that "until the Queen otherwise directs, the seat of Government of Canada shall be Ottawa."