(2) <u>Commission</u> - The Commission is to be composed of nine members appointed for their general competence and independence for a period of four years, with no more than two members having the nationality of the same state.

The Commission will be responsible for elaborating detailed policies implementing the Rome Treaty (e.g. the common agricultural and commercial policies) and for making recommendations to the Council; it will supervise the execution of the latter's decisions and also has authority to make certain decisions, generally of an administrative nature, within the framework established by the Rome Treaty. The Secretariat of the Commission in Brussels will, to all practical purposes, become the civil service of the Community.

(3) Assembly - The Assembly is to be composed of 142 delegates from the Parliaments of member countries, but it is proposed that they should eventually be elected by direct universal suffrage.

The functions of the Assembly will be chiefly advisory. It can, by vote of censure concerning the activities of the Commission, force the collective resignation of the nine Commissioners. The Assembly is common to the Common Market, the European Coal and Steel Community, and the European Atomic Energy Community.

(4) <u>Court of Justice</u> - The Court of Justice is to be composed of seven judges appointed for a term of six years by the governments of the member states acting in common agreement.

The Court is to ensure the observance of law in the interpretation and application of the Rome Treaty. It will pass judgment on all alleged violations of the Treaty by a member state and review the lawfulness of the decisions of the Council and the Commission.

- (5) European Investment Bank The Bank, with a capital of \$1 billion, will finance, without making a profit, by means of loans and guarantees:
  - (a) projects for developing under-developed regions in the Common Market;
  - (b) modernization or conversion projects made necessary by the progressive establishment of the Common Market;
  - (c) projects of common interest to several member states.