## PRESS RELEASE

INFORMATION DIVISION

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 41

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 18, 1948

The Department of External Affairs announced today that a National Group for Canada has been appointed by the Canadian Government. The following have agreed to act as members of the National Group:-

The Right Honourable Thibaudeau Rinfret, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada;

The Honourable J. C. McRuer,
Chief Justice of the High Court of Ontario;

The Honourable Thane Campbell, Chief Justice of Prince Edward Island;

The Honourable W. M. Martin, Chief Justice of Saskatchewan;

J. T. Hackett, Esq., K.C., M.P.,
President of the Canadian Bar Association.

The National Group has been appointed to function under the provisions of the Statute of the International Court of Justice for the purpose of nominating candidates to the International Court. It has also been asked to make recommendations to the Government of candidates who might be nominated to the International Law Commission.

Members of the Court will be elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations during the course of the third session of the Assembly while members of the International Law Commission will be elected by the Assembly during the course of its third session. Members of the Court will be elected from candidates submitted by National Groups to the Secretary-General of the United Nations. Members of the International Law Commission will be elected from candidates nominated by Governments.